110 Days Alcohol Free

Helen Nomura
4 min readOct 23, 2023
Photo by Fahmi Fakhrudin on Unsplash

A New Milestone

Today I‘m celebrating a milestone that I never imagined I would reach. 110 days alcohol-free!

The thing is, I tried to quit almost two years ago when I made it my 2021 New Year’s Resolution to stop for 100 days. I only got to about 58 days though. I felt upset about a friendship that had ended and so I consoled myself with a glass that turned into a bottle of wine. Within a few weeks, I was back to drinking whenever I wanted.

It was quite embarrassing because I’d announced my 100-day challenge on Facebook and on my blog. So even though I tried to be compassionate and understanding of myself and what I was going through, the truth is I felt ashamed and like a failure.

Why couldn't I quit?

Admitting You Have a Problem

I realise now that I was one of those “highly functioning” alcohol drinkers. I didn’t drink every day, nor did I ever reach for a drink in the morning to cure a hangover. But I definitely drank too much.

When you’ve built up your tolerance enough that you can put away a couple of beers and an entire bottle of wine and wake up without a hangover, I think that’s probably a bit of a red flag.

Another way I convinced myself that my drinking wasn’t a problem was because, for…

--

--

Helen Nomura

She/her. A Brit living in Japan for the last 22 years. I love travelling, languages, writing and classical piano. https://linktr.ee/helennomura