Beautiful Stock Photos of African Americans…For Free!

LaToya F.
3 min readJul 26, 2018
Photo by Guilherme Stecanella on Unsplash

There has always been a lack of representation of African Americans when I used to search for stock photos. I just wanted to view images of people that looked like me… did the activities that I enjoyed, but it was nearly impossible. Unfortunately, some stock images only showed us in a stereotypical way… you know, the angry or criminal type of imagery.

I recently came across a few websites that show images of African American people doing normal, everyday things that I do myself!

Nappy.co

According to ABeautifulPerspective.com, Marketer Jacques Bastien, “created a photo stock service where people of color aren’t reduced to stereotypes”. He discovered this issue while trying to locate images for presentations to his clients. This is the reason for launching Nappy.co, which features black and brown people enjoying everyday things: “eating pizza, hanging with friends, or going for a run.” And the best part is… THEY’RE FREE!! Here’s some examples of what you’ll see:

--

--

LaToya F.

Lifestyle blogger at HelloToya.com. Sharing life adventures and revelations.. all while trying to figure out everything in between. HelloToya9@gmail.com