Dry January, All Year Long

Nicolas Hernandez
3 min readJan 12, 2022

--

As a sales-person the pandemic meant a lot less time on the tarmac, in onsite meetings, and out at dinners. While I miss great meals with awesome clients, I really don’t miss what even a few drinks per week do to my routine. That’s why I’ve decided to forgo alcohol in 2022. This isn’t a “test” or something I’m dreading. In fact, I am excited about it. Here’s why:

Q: Nick — do you have a problem with alcohol?

A: I don’t. This isn’t a response to an unhealthy relationship with alcohol. While I have definitely had my share of hangovers and foolish decisions in the past, my alcohol consumption has been declining for years so this isn’t a drastic change.

Q: So why are you doing this?

A: It’s not about stopping negative behaviors like hangovers. It’s about adding more positive ones: sleeping better, exercising more often, and eating healthier. I’m cutting alcohol because I want to do more and alcohol even in small/healthy amounts leaves me a step slower.

Q: Won’t you miss [insert tasty alcoholic beverage]?

A: I don’t often drink cocktails because of the sugar content but I appreciate a glass of red wine or a craft beer. I have found some great alternatives though. I’m a tea fanatic, which can have the same complexity and diversity as wine. Non-alcoholic beer has improved immensely and I can heartily recommend Athletic Brewing Company as a go-to for hot days, hanging out, or post workout. Spindrift and Dram make some great flavored sparkling waters.

Check out Athletic for an awesome non-alcoholic beer

Q: Why are you sharing this?

A: This is partially selfish so I don’t need to repeat myself a lot this year and partially so friends don’t think I’ve lost it when I order grapefruit juice & soda at the bar, but it’s mostly to normalize not drinking.

I’ve done extended periods of intentionally not drinking ranging from a few weeks to 3 months. I feel great but it’s exhausting. People might ask if you have a problem or religious restriction, pressure you to drink, or feel judged themselves. It’s also lonely because you might be the only one abstaining at a meal, party, bar etc. I can only imagine how difficult this must be for someone with a dependent relationship with alcohol.

I’m sharing this in solidarity with anyone thinking about making a change and doing my best to normalize abstention whether one has a problem or not.

Q: So can we still “grab a beer”?

A: I’ll turn this one back on you. I’m comfortable hanging out while you drink whatever beverage you choose. I might judge you if you drink your tea with milk and sugar but we’ll get over it.

--

--

Nicolas Hernandez

Sales/BD @ sourcegraph, Stanford alum. Mostly write about tech, cities, & living the good life.