Clinton Campaign Announces Hillary for Georgia Leadership Council

The Clinton Campaign announced the launch of its “Hillary for Georgia Leadership Council” (HFGA LC) — a group of over 60 elected officials, community, student, coalition and grassroots leaders who will help build a grassroots-driven volunteer team that will help Hillary to win the Georgia Primary on March 1.

These Leadership Councils will serve as the in-state leadership for the campaign, amplifying the campaign’s national voice to Georgia families aiding the campaign with rapid response, organization building, grassroots organizing events, recruiting volunteer leaders, and identifying leaders for Get Out The Vote activities.

Many of the Leadership Council members share Clinton’s commitment to raising wages for the middle class, her plan to reform health care to reduce prescription drug costs, her passion for reforming the criminal justice system and her belief that debt should never be a barrier for students going to college and much more.

“As our former Secretary of State, Senator from New York, and first Lady of the United States, Hillary Clinton is the most qualified person to be President of the United States,” said Congressman John Lewis. “I know her heart. We need her leadership, not just here in America, but all over the world. She is tireless in her advocacy for those who have been left out and left behind. She is ready to be President on day one. Hillary Clinton has my wholehearted endorsement, and I plan to work and campaign for her to see that she is elected the next President of the United States.”

“I am honored to join the Hillary for Georgia Leadership Council,” said House Minority Leader Stacey Abrams. “Secretary Clinton’s vision for a just, fair and economically robust nation reflects the values of Georgia. We are excited to welcome the growing ranks of volunteers and supporters to ensure that Hillary Clinton becomes the next President of the United States.”

“I am excited to be a part of the Hillary for Georgia Leadership Council, and am proud to lend my active support to Hillary because she and I share the same goal of expanding access to higher education,” said Representative Stacey Evans.

“I believe in the changing power of strong and inspirational leadership, and I know that we’ll get just that by electing Hillary Clinton as our President in 2016,” said Jennifer Young, Grassroots Volunteer Leader. “It is with this spirit and fervor that I am joining the Hillary for Georgia Leadership Council. I look forward to working to not only turning Georgia Blue, but to spreading Secretary Clinton’s message throughout the nation”

Over the course of the campaign, the HFGA LC will continue to expand.

Members of the public can sign up at to receive more information about campaign events happening in Georgia.

Joining the Hillary for Georgia Leadership Council today:

· Former Ambassador to the UN Andrew Young

· US Representative John Lewis

· US Representative Hank Johnson

· US Representative David Scott

· Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed

· Senate Minority Leader Steve Henson

· House Minority Leader Stacey Abrams

· State Senator Horacena Tate

· State Senator Freddie Powell Sims

· State Senator Vincent Fort

· State Senator Nan Orrock

· State Representative Calvin Smyre

· State Representative Nikki Randall

· State Representative Virgil Fludd

· State Representative Carolyn Hughley

· State Representative Pedro Marin

· State Representative Howard Mosby

· State Representative Scott Holcomb

· State Representative Craig Gordon

· State Representative Stacey Evans

· State Representative Erica Thomas

· State Representative Simone Bell

· East Point Mayor Jannquell Peters

· DeKalb County Commissioner Mereda Johnson

· Rome City Commissioner Wendy Davis

· Atlanta City Council President Cesar Mitchell

· Atlanta City Councilman Kwanza Hall

· Fulton County Chairman John Eaves

· Former Ambassador to Canada Gordon Giffin

· Former Attorney General Thurbert Baker

· Former Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin

· Former Georgia Labor Commissioner Michael Thurmond

· Former State Senator Jason Carter

· President of Georgia Association of Educations Dr. Sid Chapman

· Municipal County Clerk of Muscogee Vivan Bishop

· DNC Member Leslie Small

· DNC Member David Worley

· DNC Member Dan Halpern

· DNC Member Nikema Williams

· DNC Member Sally Rosser

· DNC Member Dubose Porter

· University of Georgia Student Leader Shame Haywood

· Georgia Tech Student Leader Jake Orvis

· Georgia Perimeter College Leader Adam Smith

· Democratic Party of Georgia Disability Caucus Chair Vincent Olsziewski

· Community Leader Keith Mason

· Community Leader Molly Burke

· Community Leader Verna Cleveland

· Community Leader Pinney Allen

· Community Leader Seth Clark

· Community Leader Dr. John Hope Bryant

· Community Leader Andrea Young Thomas

· Community Leader Adrienne White

· Community Leader Otis Thrett

· Community Leader Hattie Dorsey

· Community Leader Stephanie Davis

· Constituency Director Ramone Rushing

· Grassroots Volunteer Leader DeUndre Eberhart

· Grassroots Volunteer Leader Jennifer Young

· Grassroots Volunteer Leader Joshua McNair

· Civil Rights Leader Henrietta Antonin

· Civil Rights Leader Lonnie King

· LGBT Advocate Glen Paul Freeman

Like what you read? Give Hillary for Georgia a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.