Lessons from Certain Woman, An Empty Tomb & Reconciliation

A Sermon I needed to Hear

HollyB
5 min readMay 22, 2019
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

After finding out a series of bad news over the course of a very short weekend. My heart was heavy Ever feel like months down the drain? Yesterday morning I woke up trying not to dwell in it. That lasted only about the length of my shower. Instead of fighting the feeling, I chose to give myself the day and dwell in it. Actually be in the feelings I wanted no parts of being in. I never like walking away from something (even if it feels bad) and not attempt to learn something from it.

I woke up, got some coffee, made some oatmeal and proceeded to YouTube. I had no clue what sermon to watch, or who was even preaching. I just needed something to give my weary spirit and my lazy bones.

Now What?
John Grey

That was all I needed to see. I honestly didn’t care who the messenger was. All I knew was that my weary spirit needed this message.

Please note; All of Grey’s quotes will be in quotations. The rest of the writing are my notes. Also text from the Bible is from the NKJV and will be numbered by verse. I am only going to give highlights of what pieces of the sermon I needed for me in my situation. And I encourage you to go and listen or watch the sermon.

St. Luke 24: 2- 12 (this is the immediate aftermath after Jesus left the tomb)

2 But they found the stone rolled away from the tomb. 3 Then they went in and did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. 4 And it happened, as they were [a]greatly perplexed about this, that behold, two men stood by them in shining garments. 5 Then, as they were afraid and bowed their faces to the earth, they said to them, “Why do you seek the living among the dead? 6 He is not here, but is risen! Remember how He spoke to you when He was still in Galilee, 7 saying, ‘The Son of Man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, and be crucified, and the third day rise again.’ ”

8 And they remembered His words. 9 Then they returned from the tomb and told all these things to the eleven and to all the rest. 10 It was Mary Magdalene, Joanna, Mary the mother of James, and the other women with them, who told these things to the apostles. 11 And their words seemed to them like [b]idle tales, and they did not believe them. 12 But Peter arose and ran to the tomb; and stooping down, he saw the linen cloths [c]lying by themselves; and he departed, marveling to himself at what had happened.

Certain Women are certain of what they are going to do.
-John Grey

Idris Hassan — 2017

That morning the ladies woke and gathered themselves to go an mourn the passing of Jesus. They gathered their herbs and spices and got ready.

They got up.

I can honestly say the greatest gift I was given was learning from strong women of faith. From cleaning to cursing to repenting to praising. No matter what women like these women GET UP.

“You love God, and you have a little pepper when you need it. A little paprika when you need it. You are a little salty when you need to be”.
“Don’t loose you’re spice because of
Your past
Your condition or anything
You have been seasoned through trials, heartbreak and tears.
Certain women will stir up a praise immediately because they walk with God”.
— John Grey

Where are my certain women?

It was the women who went to the tomb. Not the men. When they went and told the disciples what the angels told them, the men didn’t believe them.

Peter was the only one that ran to see the empty tomb.

He was the same one that denied Jesus 3 times.

Why did he go?

Peter needed to know that he could reconcile with Jesus again.
Jesus’ body is gone.
Jesus died for us to have another chance!

After Peter realized the tomb was empty. He didn’t know what to do next. So he did what a lot of us do. We go back to what we were used to.
Peter went fishing. The other 11 disciples followed. They threw their nets over and over again.
And caught absolutely nothing. Why?

Because God will dry up everything that doesn’t have Him in it.

A man called from the shore and asked the disciples.

John 21: 5Children, have you any food?” They answered Him, “No.”
6 And He said to them, “Cast the net on the right side of the boat, and you will find some.” So they cast, and now they were not able to draw it in because of the multitude of fish.

Peter knew it was Jesus.

He put on his cloak and jumped out in the sea.
(Last time I checked, you take off your clothes when you go swimming)…….but

The last time Peter was on the ocean with Jesus, Peter walked on water. He knows who Jesus is.

Reconciliation

Behind Peter the rest of the men had so much fish, they found it difficult to pull it all to shore! This is what happens when you follow Jesus not ourselves.

15 So when they had eaten breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me more than these?” He said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I love You.” He said to him, “Feed My lambs.”16 He said to him again a second time, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me?” He said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I love You.” He said to him, “Tend My sheep.”17 He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me?” Peter was grieved because He said to him the third time, “Do you love Me?” And he said to Him, “Lord, You know all things; You know that I love You.” Jesus said to him, “Feed My sheep.

Why did he ask him 3 times?
Because he denied Jesus 3 times

Reconciliation is an accounting term. If you have 3 debts you have to have 3 credits.

Your worship evens the scales.
Reaffirm
Reconnect
Realign

— John Grey

--

--

HollyB

Writer of diversities. Watcher of humanity. Ohio poet