The Difference between Renovation and Refurbishment

Eric Green
2 min readDec 4, 2017

My name is Eric Green, I’ve been in the mortgage business for about 20 years. There are so many questions and subjects that I encounter, and with my experience and expertise I’m able to answer those questions when it comes to mortgages and lending.

Someone recently sent me the question:

What is the difference between Renovation and Refurbishment?

The primary difference between the two, well — they often are used interchangeably, but renovation typically refers to restoring something to a good condition or state or repair. Refurbishment implies process of cleaning, equipping, or retrofitting. So those are the basic definitions of each.

Renovation in terms of lending may be describing a loan for people who live in a home but want to make it better. Better exterior, electrical, better windows or appliances. You can also use it when purchasing a home. Once you see the benefits of a renovation loan, even fixer-uppers can be quite attractive.

A new set of french doors and windows, a stylish facade or totally redoing the kitchen, remodeling the main bath. All of these would use a renovation loan, which would mean putting something back to a good state of repair. Those are the two options for renovation financing or using it as a purchase mortgage.

I’ve seen and personally done a 203K Renovation loan on a house that I bought. It was in my family after 40 years — my grandparents place. My wife decided we were going to do a renovation loan. We put about $80,000 into it with repairs and upgrades. a nice one-story ranch. We have a substantial amount of equity in it now, and we couldn’t have done that without a Renovation loan (203K).

In my opinion, it’s the best option to go with buying a house and wanting to fix stuff.

To reach me, sign up for my email list below or ask me a question here on Quora.

Eric Green is now sending out a daily email with advice on buying, selling, refinancing and investing.

Why should you sign up?

1. The email is a daily perspective on being a firefighter and loan originator
2. We will not share your information with any outside parties
3. You will only receive the email weekday (Monday-Friday)
4. You can unsubscribe at any time!

Example Questions:

How much Money Do I Need for a Down Payment?

How much does it Cost to Completely Renovate a Second Story?

What is Homes for Heroes and How Does It Work?

Can I use a 203K loan as a real estate investor?

Learn More

--

--