1001 Album Challenge

Bill Cooper
2 min readMar 14, 2023

--

The Rules

And we are underway!

I uploaded the video this morning and you can check it out here:

I’m really excited to be undertaking this journey of following Robert Dimery’s 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. Here are the rules in case you don’t have time to watch the video or can’t at the moment.

Rule 1: I will be listening to all 1001 albums in a year.

Yes. One year. Yes. That’s about 20 albums a week. Yes. I know that’s a lot.

But I couldn’t be more excited. I need to challenge myself in my musical tastes. I’ve fallen into old habits. Listened to the same things again and again. I’m excited to learn about new music I might enjoy.

Rule 2: I will listen to all 1001 albums in chronological order of the book

The book goes from the fifties to 2005, when I bought the book. Yes, there are other editions, but this is the same book I carried around for years and years. I always told myself I would do this. I figure I’ll keep the promise to high school Bill and do it the same way he would have.

Rule 3: I will upload a video each week and discuss my general thoughts on each album.

I’m not doing reviews here. I’m just talking a little bit about each album I listened to each week. I could spend ten seconds on it. I could spend two minutes on it. I’ll tell you what I think and spark discussion and interest. Enough so that if you want to follow along you can check it out. I don’t see a reason to provide my “scores.” The point is discovery, not criticism here.

Rule 4: I can listen to as many albums as I want a day.

The challenge would not be possible without this.

There will be times when I take breaks and there will be times where I binge. But this way I don’t have to hold myself to some arbitrary standard of three a day. I want to make the schedule work for my schedule.

And that’s it!

Follow along if you want. My channel will be featuring the whole journey. Looking forward to sharing this experience with you all.

Hey, I’m Bill. In addition to listening to 1001 albums in a year, I talk about spirituality, self-help, advice, and mental health. Follow along if you like my vibe.

--

--