Music

“Punk, Post-Punk, Disco? Genres are Confusing!”

Week 21: 1001 Album Challenge

Bill Cooper
3 min readAug 12, 2023

--

Thumbnail by author

I’m listening to 1001 albums in a year and documenting the journey on Medium and in more depth (with costumes and characters!) on Youtube. If you want more information on the rules, check this out. For my channel, click here.

Here’s the latest video:

Some Takeaways For This Week:

  • I’ve heard how great The Cars self-titled debut is for years. Have I listened to it until now? Nope. Well…I guess that’s half true, because most of the album is on the radio. That being said, it works really well as a self-contained album and it really, truly rocks, while also giving a heads up for what the 80s music landscape is like.
  • Devo is more than just “Whip It.” Their album “Are We Not Men? We Are Devo” is sonically intriguing featuring the strange sensations of the Talking Heads with mixed in punkiness. Another surprise was a fascinating cover of “Satisfaction” by the Stones. Sign me up.

--

--