An “Extra Support System” for Better Health

Humana
3 min readAug 3, 2016

--

Across the country, Humana is using innovative programs to help our members and the people who support them live more healthy days. This is Charlotte’s story.

Charlotte remembers, “I was in and out of the hospital constantly. And every time I would go to the emergency room, it was a struggle to comprehend what was going to happen to me.”

Then Charlotte began to participate in a new kind of health program with the help of Nicole, a nurse practitioner with Humana who provides on-site care for Charlotte, supported by Humana’s technology that allows for monitoring, testing, and other services so that members can stay in their own homes.

Mary Anne, the primary caregiver in Charlotte’s life, says, “It’s like a 24-hour hospital, only you’re not in the hospital.”

Charlotte’s example highlights Humana’s work to help our members get and stay healthy, while keeping costs down. Humana Medicare Advantage members in value-based care settings had 7 percent fewer hospital admissions and 6 percent fewer emergency room visits in 2014, compared with members treated in traditional fee-for-service settings.

We estimate that Humana Medicare Advantage members saved on average $800 per person in out-of-pocket costs in 2014 compared to Original Medicare plus a standalone prescription-drug plan.*

Nicole says of Charlotte, “She came into the program, as many patients do, who are more vulnerable, at higher risk, and in need a second layer of care.”

Charlotte remembers one moment of her care that stands out. “When I was talking to Nicole one day,” she says, “I told her, I just don’t have no energy for nothing!”

Nicole found that she was anemic. She remembers, “I was able to draw blood at my visit when I was there, have it run within a couple hours, get the results back, and be able to see that she was severely anemic.”

And instead of sending her to the hospital or to the emergency department, Nicole explains, “I was able to arrange for her to get blood transfusions as an outpatient.”

Charlotte and Nicole’s relationship demonstrates how Humana’s model of care helps members focus on living their lives. Nicole says in general, “it just improves their quality of life. And then they can focus on enjoying life and not just their medications and doctor visits.”

It benefits primary caregivers as well, Nicole explains, because “it gives them an extra support system too.”

Mary Ann feels the same way. “I’m not afraid to leave the house anymore,” she says. “They’ve explained things to me that help me to understand her conditions and not be so frightened.”

Watch Charlotte’s journey to better health with Nicole and Mary Ann:

Charlotte reflects back on her experience and sees an important change. “I don’t get anxious like I did. I don’t get frustrated about things that I can’t control. I’m getting back to where I want to be!”

This kind of innovative care is one example of the many ways Humana is helping members and the people who support them focus on staying healthy, so that they can spend their time and energy on the things that matter most to them.

*June 2016 Humana report calculated medical savings by comparing 2014 out-of-pocket costs for approximately 68 percent of Humana Medicare Advantage Prescription Drug (MAPD) plan members to CMS Original Medicare Limited Data Set Files. Prescription drug savings were calculated by comparing the “Estimated Annual Costs” from Medicare Plan Finder on Medicare.gov for Humana MAPD plans to standalone Prescription Drug Plans in the same service area.

--

--

Humana

Pursuing our dream of helping people achieve lifelong well-being. To learn more about Humana visit https://www.humana.com/about. Need help? Tweet @HumanaHelp.