12 Life-Changing Money Lessons I Learned In My 30s

Laura@IWMLBproject
Ascent Publication
Published in
13 min readJul 18, 2018

--

Photo by Haute Stock

“Wow, in my 30s, I’ll be like so totally sorted.”

I don’t think I actually said it like that as I am from the UK and not one of the Kardashians, but the sentiment was the same.

In my 30s, I’ll have my sh*t together.

I’ll be on a high rung of the career ladder, have a very stable life and be very clear on the direction I am headed.

Bahahahahahaha! Oh sorry, I just fell off my chair laughing at my naive 20-year-old self.

I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that we never know exactly what we want for the rest of our lives, but we need the courage to take risks and see where they go.

Life is too short to stay on one path, always wondering ‘what if?’.

Being in control of our finances and having a ‘money cushion’ helps to smooth the ride, to help us take risks when we want to and to rescue us from situations we didn’t see coming.

My 30’s have been a very interesting time as I have spent a big part of it learning about money.

How to invest, what to invest in, how to think about money, what to use it for, and also making…

--

--

Laura@IWMLBproject
Ascent Publication

I Want My Life Back Project! www.IWMLBproject.com helps corporate women in their 30s to quit the rat race. Join me! https://bit.ly/2wFA5Vo