Ziah
3 min readJun 19, 2020

HTML — Top 3 free online resources used by bootcamps

Photo by Emile Perron on Unsplash

If you are like me and new to computer programming and looking for the best free online resources, I have compiled a list of the top 3 free online resources. I have recently started my journey in to computer programming and currently learning HTML. These are the resources that are used by the bootcamp I am learning with. A lot of the information on each site is the same but explained and presented differently, so you have your pick of which one you prefer to use. I personally like to use them all when learning and looking for things. You will come to love some better than others but I wouldn’t recommend any one as they’re all pretty great for different things.

Resources for Developers by Developers is their tagline. This is a really great resource with lots of information, guides and tutorials for beginners. this is definitely one you will constantly refer back to and keep open at all times. The information is well structured and explained clearly. This site has plenty of other resources and is worth taking a look. HTML is just one of the many resources this website has to offer.

webplatform.org

Another brilliant resource and one that I use probably the most. The website and content is well structured and defined and I quite like the user experience. The information is a breeze to follow and I’ve found I have been able to quickly grasp concepts using this resource. Clear examples are provided and some with rendered examples.

Whatwg.org is another great resource with ‘to the point’ explanations of each element and attribute. Notes are highlighted in green for things to consider and look out for. Clear and easy examples are also provided that are easy to follow and understand. This site also has a useful HTML Checker to validate your documents.

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

I’m sure there are plenty of other resources out there to learn HTML but I have found these to be some of the best. If you are completely new and just testing the waters, I would advise to spend some time taking a look and becoming familiar with the resources.

Remember anything can be achieved if you put your mind and time to it, I wish you all the best in your pursuit.