A Review of: TDT by Big K.R.I.T.

Ian
2 min readJan 13, 2019

--

On TDT Big K.R.I.T. proudly shares his successes and delivers another solid tape with music.

Big K.R.I.T. should be known to you already if you are a fan of hiphop in any shape or form. The Mississppi rapper has been a booming voice in the rap scene for years now. Back in 2017 he released his incredible double lp ‘4eva Is a Mighty Long Time’. Here now, he has come out with his own collection of new tracks. With his new compillation ep: TDT.

“I need your energy. This world is killing me.” — Big K.R.I.T. on “Energy”

On the opening track “Energy”, Big K.R.I.T. directly asks his listeners and fans to be there for him, for he is there for them. The track is an overall celebration of what he has achieved as an artist and he delivers that same type of energy across the entire project. “Glorious”, “Look What I Got” and “4 Tha Three” all tell tales of Big K.R.I.T. having made it. The project truly is meant to inspire. He is not sharing all of this, to show off his wealth and life, but to show that you too, can be where he stands now.

Across the 8 tracks K.R.I.T. brings, next to his usual great wordplay, a diverse range of production. There are various contrasting tracks, from the piano driven beat on “Energy” to the trap inspired production “Look What I Got”. None of the production is often the focus, but it serves as a great platform for K.R.I.T. to show his talents.

On the back of “4eva Is a Mighty Long Time” release, it was going to be hard to reproduce what K.R.I.T. managed to do on that project. TDT isn’t a big progression for K.R.I.T. as an artist, but more of a solid statement. A statement that’s loud and clear: “I am here, and I am here to stay”.

All in all, with TDT Big K.R.I.T. has come out with another great collection of tracks, giving us more of his amazing wordplay and stories. A project that is both as elevating, as it is heartening. TDT might not be his best work to date, but it still remains a decidedly satisfying release.

7/10

--

--