Headphones v a Song: Beyerdynamic Aventho Wireless v Helvetesfonster

Ivan Mehta
3 min readJul 6, 2018

--

So before anyone starts bashing me, I have never reviewed audio products professionally. I just play them by the ear. There are plenty of reviews and reviewers out there who have done a great job on unweaving the technicalities of Beyerdynamic Aventho wireless. What I am attempting to do here is to take a very familiar song to me and describe how it sounds as compared to other earphones/headphones. My focus is on the song rather than the headphones. I am taking the song Helvetesfonster from the band Ghost as an example.

Ghost official band

Band introduction: Ghost is a Grammy-winning metal/rock outfit from Sweden. Their signature has been to produce ear-pleasing songs while staying in touch with the satanic roots through the lyrics. Melodic singing is a trademark of the band along with beautiful symphonies produced from the combination of synth and guitars. Most of the members of the bands are called Nameless Ghouls and their identities are unknown. Their lead singer has been Tobias Forge for most of their existence going through different identities. Their newest album Prequelle came out on 1 June.

Helvetesfonster is an instrumental song in the album featuring as the 9th track. I used my iPhone X as the source without any DAC attached. The song starts with a flute-like tune produced artificially from a soundboard or a second synth along with a synth progression. Around 0:23 a low bass note starts which is best produced by the headphones because it is meant to cause a little bit of hum in the ear. The tone is meant to haunt you from multiple dimensions like a moving bee with high bass. In other headphones, I used to listen to this song the bass note stays in one dimension like a flat distant hum. Around 0:43 there are three swipe sounds, which are again due to the great soundstage of the headphones seems to be moving forward as compared to your ear’s position.

The drums kick in around 1:09. That’s probably my favourite part to listen to on this pair. Because the movement of the diaphragm makes me feel like I am playing the drums. Almost like a sound from the monitor. Separation is great again. The Snares are perfectly audible. A part of drums which often gets overshadowed in other headphones. Around 1:33, things get busy when the guitar kicks in. Yet, I have no problems in listening to the sustained sounds of other instruments. Around 2:03 a synth note is played for a bar or two for each beat until the synth melody kicks in. And despite the louder guitars and drums, it is prominently heard. That’s some good production.

At 3:24 ,things go silent, the sustained bass note returns along with the noise of the wind. While listening to this song with most of the headphones/earphones I felt that the wind is blowing from the behind, while listening to it on Aventho Wireless I felt the wind is in a circular motion around me. Around 4:40 the bass note is complimented with a funk note. But it is still pretty low key. And that’s a great transition. This one is hard to spot and if you do you’ll enjoy the song much much more. The song length is 5:56. For rest of the song, I didn’t notice anything extremely notable and just enjoyed the track. I can’t recommend listening to the album enough though.

--

--