The 8 Most Important Money Lessons I Learned from “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”

Insightful Scribbler
4 min readMar 25, 2024

One of my favorites off the old bookshelf — the personal finance classic Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki made a profound impact on how I view money and wealth. Packed with counterintuitive advice and unconventional wisdom, Rich Dad Poor Dad changed my mindset around earning, budgeting, investing and financial freedom.

While the book covers a range of concepts, a few key lessons stood out that fundamentally shifted my approach to managing and growing money. After living by these core principles from Rich Dad Poor Dad, I’ve been able to escape living paycheck to paycheck and accomplish financial goals that once seemed far off and I think it can help you, too.

If you’re looking to similarly transform your relationship with money, here are the 8 most important lessons I took away from Rich Dad Poor Dad:

Lesson #1: Mindset is Everything

The book emphasizes that your beliefs and assumptions around money often become self-fulfilling prophecies. If you believe the formulas “work hard to get a good job” or “live below your means” are how one gets rich, then that will be your limiting reality. To prosper, you must adopt the mindset of the wealthy. This means seeing money as something to leverage rather than cling to, appreciating…

--

--

Insightful Scribbler

I jump into just about anything. Following me will get you a virtual box of chocolates - you never know what you're going to get!