The Lessons of the 80’s and How they Shaped Me

Insightful Scribbler
3 min readApr 5, 2024

I truly feel my childhood in the 1980s laid the foundation for who I am today. Growing up without constant digital stimulation helped develop valuable traits and skills I still rely on.

Creativity was hugely important. With no tablets or phones, imagination drove our play for hours outside. My friends and I built entire worlds in the woods. I remember constructing elaborate forts from fallen branches and leaves. We’d joust with homemade wooden swords — this kind of imaginative role-playing really nurtured my problem-solving and out-of-the-box thinking. To this day, I love engaging my creative side through art, crafts, cooking and imaginative activities with my own kids.

Independence was another gift of growing up in the 80s. My parents let me roam freely around our small town from a very young age. This paved the way for a self-assured personality. I learned to entertain myself and make decisions without constant oversight. As a working adult, this quality of self-reliance has served me extremely well and allowed me to confidently tackle new challenges. I instill a similar sense of autonomy in my children when possible.

Social skills were also forged during my childhood decades before smartphones. Face-to-face interaction was king. Whether chatting at the arcade, hanging in treehouses or having movie marathons, I…

--

--

Insightful Scribbler

I jump into just about anything. Following me will get you a virtual box of chocolates - you never know what you're going to get!