I Tape My Mouth Shut When I Sleep, and I’ve Never Felt More Rested

Intamateo
6 min readAug 12, 2023

--

I know you may be freaking out about tape with a beard. It works! Read on.

I have been sleeping with my mouth taped shut for about four months now, and I am here to tell you that this is the best sleep I have ever gotten. And all it costs me is $5 for what seems like almost a year’s supply. (You don’t need the expensive and branded mouth tapes out there! More on that below).

If you know you have sleep apnea or other sleep disorders, I STRONGLY suggest you consult your physician before starting this.

How This Came About For Me

I am always looking for ways to improve my mind and body. I started to read more and more about how much sleep affects every aspect of your mind and body, from moods to digestion and even memory.

My friend, James, mentioned to us that he has been sleeping with his mouth taped shut. We were all in disbelief. Now, I am into some seriously woo-woo stuff, but taping your mouth shut seemed real odd, and a touch WTF. Even though he swore by it as a great way to get amazing sleep, I discounted it wholesale. That was until I started running out of things to do to improve my sleep.

I tried meditation, magnesium, trance therapy, you name it, plus all the stuff on TikTok. That’s when I remembered James doing this, and dove head-first into Google only to get my mind blown.

What is Sleep Tape / Mouth Taping?

Sleep mouth tape, also known as mouth taping, involves applying a gentle and breathable tape over your lips before bed. The primary purpose of sleep mouth tape is to encourage nasal breathing throughout the night. Nasal breathing is associated with several health benefits, including improved oxygen exchange, reduced snoring, and enhanced sleep quality.

Weirded out yet? I was! But, check out how I benefitted from this in just ONE WEEK of doing this…

Improvements I Saw after Using Sleep Tape in the First Week

  • I woke up rested after just 6 hours! Now, I have had the best sleep of my life before, and that was when I was on a ship out to sea. Nothing compares to that gentle rocking—sleep of the dead, I tell you! But, this was very close.
  • My dreams are a touch different. I have no idea why this is, but when I sleep with tape I notice my dreams are less lucid. Still good! Just different.
  • My breathing is improving. I feel like my lung capacity is improving. I have no data on this since I did not test it before starting, but I certainly feel it when I run, climb stairs, or meditate.
  • I fall asleep faster. Perhaps about 20–30% faster, says my Oura Ring.
  • I wake up faster. I now fully wake up faster. I also feel that getting out of bed is a lot easier.
  • I sleep deeper. I still wake up during the nihgt, but I do feel like I sleep much deeper. Again, my Oura Ring confirms it showing me that nights I do tape have more minutes of deep sleep that without.

The Benefits of Sleep Mouth Tape

While your milage may vary, as they say, here are a number of benefits to using sleep tape / mouth taping.

Improved Nasal Breathing

One of the key benefits of sleep mouth tape is its ability to promote nasal breathing. Breathing through the nose helps filter and humidify the air, leading to better oxygen exchange and reduced risk of dry throat and mouth.

I now breathe much better through my nose during the day than I did before.

Reduced Snoring

Sleep mouth tape has been shown to be effective in reducing snoring. When you breathe through your nose, the airway is more stable, which can lead to a decrease in the vibrations that cause snoring.

I do find this helps me a bit, but I also know that I need to place my head and neck in a certain way to reduce snoring. And no sleeping on my back.

Enhanced Sleep Quality

By encouraging nasal breathing and reducing snoring, sleep mouth tape can contribute to enhanced sleep quality. Quality sleep is characterized by deeper sleep stages and fewer disruptions.

I use the Oura Ring fitness tracker to give me detailed data on my sleep patterns, like REM, movement, oxygen saturation, breathing regularity, variations in blood oxygen and more. With sleep tape, the number are at their best for me, and when I sleep without tape

Enhanced Oxygen Intake

Nasal breathing allows for more efficient oxygen intake compared to mouth breathing. This can have a positive impact on overall health and well-being, as oxygen is crucial for various bodily functions.

Better Airway Health

Sleep mouth tape may promote better airway health by preventing the mouth from falling open during sleep. This can be particularly beneficial for individuals who experience sleep-related breathing disorders.

Encourages Parasympathetic Nervous System Activation

Nasal breathing is associated with the activation of the parasympathetic nervous system, which promotes relaxation and rest. By fostering this state, sleep mouth tape contributes to a calmer and more restorative sleep experience.

Non-Invasive Solution

Sleep mouth tape offers a non-invasive and drug-free solution for sleep-related issues. It can be particularly appealing to individuals who prefer natural methods to enhance their sleep quality.

Using Sleep Mouth Tape Effectively

Choose the Right Tape

Opt for a gentle and breathable medical tape that is specifically designed for use on the skin. Avoid tapes that may cause irritation or discomfort.

Apply Correctly

Apply the tape gently over your lips, ensuring that it is secure but not overly tight. Make sure you can still easily open your mouth if needed. I tear off a piece that is slightly longer than my mouth is wide. I press my lips together gently, then place the tape on. It should be slightly difficult to breath through your mouth, but not impossible.

If you go to bed with Aquaphor or other lip balm on your lips, this may not work for you as it will not stick.

Practice Nasal Breathing

While sleep mouth tape encourages nasal breathing, it’s important to practice nasal breathing during wakefulness as well. Breathing exercises and mindfulness can help you become more accustomed to nasal breathing. This is where meditation comes in.

Consult a Professional

If you have underlying health conditions or concerns about using sleep mouth tape, it’s advisable to consult a healthcare professional before trying this technique. If you know you have sleep apnea, I STRONGLY suggest you consult your physician before starting this.

Can I Use Sleep Tape / Mouth Tape with a Beard?

Yes! 100%. I do. I strongly suggest the 3M Micropore tape that you can find just about anywhere. It does stick to your beard, but this isn’t like duct tape or something. You’ll see, it’s fine.

And, with the micropore tape, the amount of tape that adheres to your beard will be minimal. And yes, in the morning, I do feel the tape tug at some hairs, but I am always surprised by how little of a concern it is for me now.

How Do You Remove The Sleep Tape / Mouth Tape in The Morning?

The first morning I went to remove it, I was like “whoa! That’s on there!” Luckily, I found an article explaining that some mornings you may need to separate the tape from your lips using your tongue. Just wedge your tongue between your lips and tape as you gently pull, and it will come up.

Some mornings, the tape feels like it comes of very easily.

I do notice that sometimes there is some tape residue on my lips. I use a gentle facial cleanser to get it off, and sometimes just need to tug at it a bit. Nothing to worry about.

If you have chronic and seriously chapped lips, DO NOT DO THIS. Whoa, pulling tape off chapped lips would be the stuff of nightmares.

In Summary

While the idea of taping your mouth shut during sleep might sound unusual (it is!), it comes with a range of surprising benefits that can significantly enhance the quality of your sleep.

I chose to use the $4-7 3M Micropore tape method versus the branded mouth tapes out there you see for $20–30 for a month’s supply. My first roll has lasted over 4 months, and it works very well. I cannot recommend this enough!

--

--

Intamateo

Intamateo is a collection of my learnings over the years, through 4 therapists, 3 personal coaches, 2 groups, and a shaman. I’m still exploring my insides.