Why You Should Embrace the Power of a Personal Coach

Improve you self-worth and confidence for a mind-blowingly beautiful and powerful version of yourself.

Intamateo
6 min readOct 7, 2023
Photo by Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

It can be easy to find yourself caught up in all the options life has to offer, struggling to find a sense of direction or purpose, even keeping up with it all. The weight of responsibilities, societal expectations, and personal goals can become overwhelming, leading to a sense of stagnation or even burnout. That’s where the transformative power of a personal coach comes in. (And I don’t use that term “transformative” lightly here. Prepare for an awakening.)

Over the years, I have hired 4 coaches for 4 different areas in my life, and I want to share why you should consider working with a personal coach. This invaluable partnership is what helped unlock my full potential, achieve personal growth I never thought possible, and is leading to a more fulfilling life.

Tailored Guidance and Support

A personal coach offers tailored guidance and support designed specifically for you, with you, and by you. They serve as a trusted ally, working with you to identify your strengths, goals, and areas for improvement. With their expertise and experience, they can help you navigate challenges, identify blind spots, and create a personalized roadmap for success. A coach provides the support and accountability you need to stay focused, motivated, and committed to achieving your goals.

My coaches started off by asking some pretty uncomfortable questions to get to the root of it all. (It was so hard.) And then asked about the person I saw myself becoming. (I had no idea.) This was all to help them personalize the coaching, and build a map to my goals (even if I didn’t know them yet.)

Unlocking Self-Discovery

Working with a personal coach is a journey of self-discovery. Through reflective exercises, deep conversations, and targeted questioning, a coach helps you gain valuable insights into your values, passions, and purpose. They help you understand your limiting beliefs and overcome self-imposed barriers, allowing you to tap into your true potential (one that is already deep inside you!) With a coach by your side, you’ll gain clarity and a renewed sense of purpose, paving the way for personal and professional growth.

One of my coaches was very intuitive, and we connected deeply. He was able to see passions I couldn’t, and a number of blind spots I never knew about. So many blind spots!

Building Confidence and Resilience

Confidence is a key ingredient for success, and a personal coach can help you build it. By identifying your strengths (and weaknesses), setting achievable goals, and celebrating your accomplishments, a coach helps boost your self-confidence and belief in your abilities. Additionally, a coach can guide you in developing resilience, teaching you how to bounce back from setbacks, reframe challenges as opportunities, and stay focused on your long-term vision.

When I started this journey with coaches, my confidence was at an all-time low. Resilience was something I didn’t even know existed—I thought getting emotionally run over and leaving myself in the middle of the road was normal. The learnings I have from my coaches doesn’t keep the emotional truck from running me over, but instead taught me how to pick myself up (and ask for help!), dust myself off (again, sometimes with help!), self-assess and move on in a healthy way.

Sidebar: What is the Difference Between Confidence and Arrogance?

Confidence is actions and words writing checks your body can cash all day long. Arrogance is actions and words writing checks your body simply cannot cash — there is nothing to back it up. A personal coach helps you build up that mind-and-body account so that you can start writing bigger and bigger checks.

If I had to put it into (poetic) perspective: when I started out, my mind-and-body shakily signed nickel-and-dime checks. I could barely write the check for my first coach without feeling queasy. Today, I know exactly how much is in my account, and I watch it grow with compound interest, so to speak.

The (confidence) checks I write today are so big I get to use commas! Yes, plural! Hell, I even have a new signature for them.

Understanding the Differences Between Confidence and Arrogance →

Self-Work-Life Balance

Maintaining a healthy self-work-life balance is crucial for overall well-being. Many people struggle to find harmony between their personal, professional and daily life, often sacrificing one for the other. A personal coach can assist you in creating a more balanced lifestyle by setting boundaries, managing time effectively, and aligning your priorities. They provide guidance on how to manage stress, better communication that improves all relationships, and nurturing personal fulfillment.

When I started with my coaches, I thought it was “work-life” balance, and my work took up about 90% of it. I still remember when one coach asked “What about you? What about Self, with a capital ‘S’?” I almost fell off the chair. When I learned it is Self-Work-Life Balance, and how to to create an equitable coexistence, my self-worth really started to grow exponentially.

Accelerating Personal and Professional Growth

With the guidance of a personal coach, your personal and professional growth can accelerate exponentially, and independently. (That last part is an important lesson.) A coach helps you identify growth opportunities, refine your skills, and challenge you to step outside your comfort zone. They provide valuable feedback (sometimes hard to hear) and constructive criticism, enabling you to improve and reach new heights. A personal coach can be your catalyst for success, helping you achieve goals faster and with greater efficiency.

Designed by my friend Ben, and so true.

Of Note: Let’s Talk about Feedback and Accountability for a Minute

I feel many of us get into a state of mind where we need therapy and coaching because we didn’t get timely feedback and be held accountable. “You didn’t get checked at the door”, as my friends and I like to say.

When you work with a strong and good coach, you will get strong, unfiltered, feedback, AND be held accountable. This was one of the hardest things I had to embrace. Think you have had hard feedback in your life? Cool, wait until your first coaching session comes and they look you in your eyes and point out a big blind spot. Crushing! Or when you are being self-limiting. Dammit! Or, OMFG, challenge something you held close and dear to your heart. Noooooo! 😱 #braceYourselfForImpact

Here is the treasure behind that trigger: Your coach is not here to trip you on the field and kick you when you are down. It may feel like it in the moment, but they are trying to get you to see the treasure behind the triggering event so you can heal and grow from it.

Talking about it doesn’t do much. I feel you often have to be in that triggered state to fully experience it and be coached through it.

In Summary

I GREATLY benefited from the support and guidance of using personal, professional and financial coaches. I feel two inches taller. The face I see in the mirror literally looks like a different person. The confidence I have today has me taking bigger risks, each helping me grow even more. That bubble of self-limiting beliefs we all create is now so far out there I rarely touch the edges when I audaciously stretch out my arms.

By taking on this transformative journey, I unlocked my full potential, cultivated resilience, and achieved a greater sense of fulfillment in my personal and professional life.

Seriously, don’t wait. Embrace the power of a personal coach and embark on a path of self-discovery, growth, and empowerment. Your best Self is waiting to be unleashed!

--

--

Intamateo

Intamateo is a collection of my learnings over the years, through 4 therapists, 3 personal coaches, 2 groups, and a shaman. I’m still exploring my insides.