Meet Dr Jo dee Baer Passion for Health Coaching Interview

Internet Traffic Mag
2 min readNov 7, 2022

When did you start your journey?

I began my journey in health and wellness in 1979 — When I was pregnant with my eldest son. I was at a
LaLeche League Meeting for expectant and mothers of newborn babies who were nursing their babies.
In my usually outspoken style, I was appalled at the ‘snacks’ they had at this meeting and made the
comment: Since when are additives and preservatives part of the four major food groups? The National
Director was in attendance, and replied: While don’t you do something about it? 6 months later, prior
to the birth of my son, I received my first of subsequent certifications and degrees.

Did you get any time to reflect on how far you came?

I don’t often take time to reflect on how far I’ve come, because there is so much education and
enlightenment to do in the Alternative Health and Wellness Field. Perhaps I took a moment when my
tally of 1 million pounds of toxic pounds was lost in the weight loss arena of health. I did take pride in the
profitable sale of my Corporate Health Coaching Business and my Practice as well.
What’s the hardest part of your job?
Early on in my Health Coaching Field, there were only health food stores that were as large as my TV
Room with a 90-year-old grey-haired lady holding a dusty book. In those days, I felt like John the Baptist
crying out in the Wilderness and no one was listening. When I expanded into Corporate Health
Coaching, there was certainly the ‘female’ situation to overcome, since I entered into a predominately
male-dominated world.
Ongoing to this day, I face the challenge of convincing people that: Healthy Living is easy and a positive
proactive choice. My favorite personal quote sums it up: Health isn’t something you do, but what you
become along life’s journey.
I’m very blessed that I have had the ability and longevity in the industry to not only be a pioneer but to
see the healing arts come of age in acceptance and be embraced in acceptability by Western Allopathic
Health.

Do you have anything new to tell the upcoming people who do what do?

I spend a proportionate of time in my practice now mentoring incoming new health coaches and those
with expertise desiring to become health coaches as well. My best advice for these new to the industry
is to NOT be tempted by ‘trying to help those that reject the healing arts but attract those who desire
your gifts, knowledge, and expertise in the application

--

--