Irked Music Geek
1 min readJan 12, 2018

King’s Dead | Jay Rock x Kendrick Lamar x Future

LISTEN.

I mentioned in the most recent podcast episode, that Kendrick had been tapped to curate the soundtrack for the highly anticipated newest #Marvel flick, Black Panther. Also on that episode, I did a review of the lead off single from the soundtrack featuring the top 2 Top Dawg Entertainment artists at the moment, Kendrick & SZA. Not even a full week later, we’ve got the second single from the soundtrack and as I suspected, it appears it will be filled with Kendrick’s label mates at #TDE. Even though I had not really been familiar with Jay Rock’s catalog, this song is dope with my only issue being the second part of Future’s verse (I need him to lay off the lean or whatever the hell he doing in the studio a little too hard). A large part of the appeal for me is the production thanks to #MikeWillMadeIt & Teddy Walton. This single is resonating a little more with me than the first one and it definitely has me excited to hear the whole project which is expected to be released on February 9th.

Irked Music Geek

Irked Music Geek (IMG) is an opinion-based blog of my first impressions of new music as it is released.