Wash Us In The Blood | Kanye West x Travis Scott

Irked Music Geek
2 min readJul 2, 2020

--

LISTEN BELOW

So I haven’t agreed with the antics of Kanye West over the last couple years, but when it comes to the music, I’m always willing to give him a chance because of where I once held him in my musical faves. The music hasn’t really hit on anything to me for a while, so it was easy to just kind of ignore him. He’s been present on social media the last few days to announce his latest business venture, but apparently there’s also an album, God’s Country, coming soon and he shares this first single with us. My initial listen was as I watched the video for the song and I was perplexed the entire time. The video felt like I was watching a wild, World Star compilation vid. I then listened without watching and my sentiments now are that the production is cool, a little busy, but cool, but the song put me in the mind of his Yeezus era, which I was not a fan of. Most of the song feels like him chanting and all I could think while listening was I miss rapping, rapping Kanye. If you’re a huge Travis fan, don’t listen expecting to hear him doing anything but a few ad libs. This one ain’t it for me, but for some reason, I’m still holding out hope that the whole album is not going to be this.

LISTEN HERE

--

--

Irked Music Geek

Irked Music Geek (IMG) is an opinion-based blog of my first impressions of new music as it is released.