Devblog 13: Visualizing heat in VR

IronEqual
IronEqual
Published in
4 min readFeb 20, 2017

FENO (@madebyfeno)

Hey!

MAZE

In case you missed it, you can vote on Greenlight for our upcoming cooperative first-person shooter MAZE! https://bitly.com/MazeGreenlight

We’re going to keep you updated here for sure, but don’t hestitate to tweet us at @playtheMAZE or subscribe to the newsletter at survivethemaze.com in order to get your chance to join the pre-release alpha coming in a few months!

Subscribe & Punch

I kept working on the main menu UI. Here’s for instance what the settings menu looks like:

Next week is going to be about in-game interface and game feel!

NATHAN (@grange_nathan)

Hey!

Ana

It’s been almost a month since I talked about my Imagine Cup project. Short reminder, I’m part of the Vivify team: Me, Camille & Mathieu are making a VR game. HTC Vive, emotional things, unique ways of showing the world around you etc etc. It’s called “Ana”.

This week was our deadline for signing up. We needed to do a lot of things, from making a presentation video, to making some early footage of the game. Both artists did a great fucking job, working hard on things that are gamedev unrelated just because we need to. Props to them, for that and for supporting my terrible English ❤

I’ll show more of Ana soon, for the moment take a look at this awesome shader Mathieu is working on. (Some context: in Ana you see what the protagonist feels in terms of heat, not just classic 3D objects with textures)

There is still a lot to do (yes we won’t just let the basics Vive controllers break entirely the game mood) but it’s looking great. See you next week!

BENJAMIN (@Valgoun16)

This week, I was focused on my Imagine Cup project, Subscribe & Punch and I aslo sharpened my art skills.

Imagine Cup

The first milestone of the contest was scheduled for this week. We had to make a video to present the game and the team. In order to show as much things as possible we decided to use all the assets we had to make a video within the engine. Obviously the best choice would have been to directly capture gameplay, but at the time we didn’t have much. That said, we used the Animator to directly animate the character, the camera and the enemies. It’s kinda fake, but the goal was to present our idea of the game.

Subscribe & Punch

I tweaked a little bit the camera of the game so it behaves better when a character is ejected off-screen. I also introduced the FXs. The game is starting to look very pleasant!

Still, some bugs are bothering me, and I’m looking for the best solutions to solve them.

Substance Designer

Substance Designer is, for those who don’t know, a very powerful tool to make procedural textures used by almost every big studio.

I already know how to use Substance Painter, another tools from their suite, and with the release of Substance Designer 6, I thought it was a good time to start learning this one.

I’m already familiar with nodes and the workflow is pretty easy to understand. For the moment I’ve only made the basic rusty metal texture introduced by their tutorial.

This very logical approach of making texture suits me perfectly and I think I’ll dig more into it when I have time.

KERYANN (@KeryannM)

Hi!

REPULSE: Galactic Rivals

This week as always I have been working on REPULSE!

I am currently preparing everything for great changes in the menu, the interface, the modes display and other stuff.

It isn’t cool work, but it’s satisfying once done!

With Max, we have also been working on the different cubes’ states display. Because, as the cubes can be deadly or neutral ; can be hold or not ; colored or not ; we had to find a way the show this state clearly, so Players can immediately know how to behave with those cubes.

As for example, the dead Players came back as cubes :

This is still R&D work but here is a deadly cube, controlled by the blue Player.

See you next week!

NIELS (@NielsTiercelin)

MAZE

With Feno we launched MAZE’s Greenlight a week ago, and it’s going perfectly!! Reading all the positive feedback the Steam community gave us is very motivating, and inspiring.

Other Stuff

My internet connection didn’t work properly all the rest of the week, and after trying to work on Cleaner without documentation or possibility to ask anyone (Feno) for help, I decided to work on 2 simpler projects.

The first one is gameplay oriented. It’s a Hotline Miami-like where all of your actions also input the enemy ones: When you shoot, they shoot. When you move forward, they move forward too. This simple system works very well, and I plan to use Cleaner’s procedural generation to offer infinite variations for the first gameplay prototype.

The second one was perfect to work on without internet. It’s an experience revolving around symbolism, and most of the production will be around making a good environment with simple interactions to convey my message.

I’ll upload better video content later on when my internet connection is better, sry.

See you next week!

Previous Devblog

--

--

IronEqual
IronEqual

Indie gaming studio. Bringing you awesome content randomly!