Devblog 5: Insane AR vith Vuforia

IronEqual
IronEqual
Published in
4 min readDec 26, 2016

Last Weekly Devblog of the year! Mainly about new little experiments or school projects.

We also noted a peek in our following lately, and would like to thank all of you for supporting and motivating us! Making these devblogs is something we enjoy doing, so be sure we’ll come back with even cooler content in 2017!

FENO (@feno42)

Hey,

I Want To Be Astronaut” dropping on the 28th.

K,

Happy Halloween

NATHAN (@grange_nathan)

Hi, Enol here!

I hope you had a great Christmas, that Santa gave you some great stuff and you are ready for New Year’s Eve! This is the last Weekly of 2016 and sadly there is no VR on the Menu :(

My VR setup stayed far from me while I got back home to see a bit of family. Soooo, what happened this week?

I worked a bit on the SUPER SECRET NASA PROJECT™. I can’t wait to share more informations with you on that.

AND I worked on something new!

It’s not VR but I couldn’t finish this year with something “Classic” either.

Vuforia

Two/Three months ago I heard about a framework called Vuforia ( https://www.vuforia.com/ ) to make AR things.

I took some time to get used to it and made a little Unity Android app to show some 3D models.

It’s really easy to use and works great; take a peek at what it looks like with not much effort:

You can see some footage where the target picture is not moving (btw, you already saw the first two models last week in Benjamin’s part of the weekly, the third one is a world premiere). This was impressive as it took no time to setup with a custom image and a bad printer. But what impressed me the most was this:

Here, I’m moving the image around and Vuforia still manages to track it very well, with nearly no lag and no scale issues. I think this could be a great tool to enhance some things we might do in the future like flyers or business cards. And paper is not the only support possible. Some interesting things are coming!

See you next week!

BENJAMIN (@Valgoun16)

Hey, Merry Christmas everyone !

SpaceFleet

This week I’ve worked with Keryann on a school project but I have no GIF for you because I took care of the server side of the project.

It’s pretty tedious but you know, someone has to do it.

For those of you who are curious, the project is made using nodeJs ,socket.io and Phaser. Everything is written in TypeScript, Html5 and CSS.

Metaballs shader

But don’t worry, It’s Christmas and I have a gift! I made these metaballs shader with Unity. It’s basically a combination of 2 shaders : one per sprite and one image effect. If you like it, I could maybe explain a bit more what I did!

KERYANN (@KeryannM)

Hey! Merry Christmas to you! I hope that you’re all enjoying your holidays and time with your family!

I am myself at my parents’ house for the holidays, so it’s not as easy as at my apartment to work.

SpaceFleet

This week, I worked with Ben on a school project, a little multiplayer web game, called SpaceFleet.

A Mother Ship

In SpaceFleet each computer connected to the game is a Mother Ship, and 3 players on the same keyboard are little Ships from the same space fleet.The game can be played with 2 to 4 computers on the same lobby, so between 6 to 12 players can play.

A Player Ship

For each fleet, the goal is to destroy the other Mother Ships.

In order to do that, players have to navigate between the asteroid field, grab bonuses, avoid being destroyed and crash themselves on adversary mother ships to damage them.

When destroyed, a player Ship respawns after a while, at his Mother Ship.

NIELS (@NielsTiercelin)

Hey everyone,

Ballet game, turned into space exploration

I was away from my computer this week too, so I only had time to work a little bit on my “Ballet Game”, and added trees to the mix, as well as an improved spaceship appearance:

I find the little bounce made by the trees when they spawn very cool. You can now change the sky’s color too. Everytime the spaceship changes its appearance, so does his speed and maneuverability. I have no idea where I’m going with this, bu I like it. Alot.

Skuu

Here’s a little footage of a game we started in september with Feno, called Skuu. It’s about you and your rock friend planting seeds in an unknown endless desert.

We might pick it up and finish it someday. You’ll know how it looks now! (I’ll first change the color palette, it’s quite off for the moment.)

REPULSE: Galactic Rivals

We also released our first closed beta version of REPULSE! We still have a lot to do before releasing the final game, but are perfectly on schedule for the production, so nothing to worry about here.

Thanks for reading us! Have a great end of the year, and we’ll see you next week with more awesome GIFs!!

--

--

IronEqual
IronEqual

Indie gaming studio. Bringing you awesome content randomly!