My mom had a stroke part 21: Adaptation

Isa-Lee Wolf
2 min readJan 18, 2022
Photo by Mel Poole on Unsplash

I’m making a crochet basket, row by row by row, and when we video visit with my mom, I hold it up, hoping she can see my progress. More often now her eyes are open.

There are still no in-person visitors allowed, COVID raging free, so many people shrugging at it and going on like it never was, let alone still is. I see so many articles about “COVID fatigue,” but they always seem to be about the people who never did anything about it in the first place.

What are they tired of?

The neurologist cut my mom’s dose of the anti-seizure medication and will be doing a test to see if she’s having any seizures. If you’re still hanging in with me from all the way back at the beginning, then you probably know that I think that mediation has been sedating her.

Most of the doctors involved in my mom’s care dismissed me immediately, without even a second thought or a moment to consider it.

So I guess we’ll see.

As close to daily as we can muster, the nurse sets up a tablet, my mom’s face shifting in and out of frame as they try to get the best angle for her to see us too. Sometimes we can glimpse the monitor with her stats, if we shift the picture and zoom in closely.

--

--

Isa-Lee Wolf

Writer of humorous science fiction, preventer of doomsday at the hands of Aunty Ida, and cozy mystery author. Check out my books: http://goo.gl/mGO2Gp