Borderlands Film Unveils First Images, Prompting a Mix of Reactions

Isabella
2 min readFeb 20, 2024

--

Video game movie adaptations have a rocky history. More often than not, this consists of a very poor or at least very mediocre effort that only uses the title and aesthetics of the game to be used in a convoluted plot that completely misses the point of the game. This has changed for the better over the years, making me less skeptical of future Borderlands movies than I was a few years ago.

Borderlands Film Unveils First Images, Prompting a Mix of Reactions

However, I'm not sure I'm all that excited about this movie, even if I'm not a fan of the Borderlands story to begin with. The fact that it has such a star cast, literally packed with big stars, doesn't really allay my fears. This is because I think lesser-known actors can sometimes have better results. When I talk about this, I always bring up Star Wars. What if Star Wars used all the A-list actors from the 1970s instead of introducing new names? Yes, even celebrities like Alec Guinness were involved.

Either way, you can see these big stars appear as characters in the next Borderlands movie below, via People.
People only have a picture of Cate Blanchett's Lilith, so be sure to check that out as well. The abandoned Vault Hunt remains pictured above are:
Roland (Kevin Hart), Tiny Tina (Ariana Greenblatt), Craig (Florian Monteano), non-half-elf Tanith (Jamie Lee Curtis), and Claptrap, the perpetual robot who seriously just shuts up. Jack Black). Like I said before, there are a lot of big names. Of these casting choices, Hart's is the most confusing. Hart looks more like a guy carrying a gun than a guy shooting a gun. Maybe Hodge from Aldi or something (or pretty much anyone on the list of potential Kang Man reruns).
Borderlands opens in theaters on August 9th. I hope it's a lot of fun and not just corny humor and gunfights (although it will be a full adaptation of the game).

Again, this whole series has always been a bit of a bummer for me because it's heavily inspired by indie projects from years ago and made without giving credit anywhere.
And this is the opening of Borderrun.

I write about TV shows, movies, video games, entertainment & culture.

--

--

Isabella

Posting the most beautiful & adorable pictures, gifs and clips of all puppies dog. We own no content posted. All credit goes to respected original owner #dog