TryHackMe CTF: Vulnversity — Walkthrough

Jasper Alblas
9 min readJul 18, 2022

Hi! It is time to look at the Vulnversity CTF on TryHackMe. I am making these walkthroughs to keep myself motivated to learn cyber security, and ensure that I remember the knowledge gained by THMs rooms.
Join me on learning cyber security. I will try and explain concepts as I go, to differentiate myself from other walkthroughs.

Room URL: https://tryhackme.com/room/vulnversity

Task 1 (Deploy the machine)

Deploy the machine and move on!

Questions

Deploy the machine

Answer: No answer needed

Task 2 (Reconnaissance)

Gather information about this machine using a network scanning tool called nmap. Check out the Nmap room for more on this!

Don’t have a Linux machine with nmap on? Deploy your own AttackBox and control it with your browser.

nmap is an free, open-source and powerful tool used to discover hosts and services on a computer network. In our example, we are using nmap to scan this machine to identify all services that are running on a particular port.

Common nmap flag descriptions

  • -sV: Attempts to determine the version of the…

--

--

Jasper Alblas

35 year old Dutchman living in Denmark. I blog about Cyber Security. Feel free to contact me at @JAlblas on LinkedIn and X, or at https://www.jalblas.com