YOU only compete against YOURSELF

Not others. They are your partners

JDcarlu
Frontiers

--

The concept for this post comes from a discussion I had many years ago with a friend and colleague. We are both CPAs and at that time we both worked for our own consulting companies.

He was telling me that sharing my knowledge with other colleagues was a bad idea because they were my competitors and they could go after my clients.

You are giving away your knowledge. To your competition!

I told him I believed the only way knowledge can be a competitive advantage is if I had something like Coca-Cola’s formula (which I don’t by the way). If you can keep your knowledge protected and secured from others, and if they can’t create or come up with it then you can have what Peter Thiel called “a secret”.

Consulting is advice based on information and personal experiences. Its very difficult to replicate or copy.

Most of CPA practices are not secrets. Being in consulting management the only secrets you can have last a very short time. Why? Because once you executed your secret (whatever it is) then it’s public and your competitors can find out.

My approach is different. I believe individuals are partners in respect to knowledge. We shouldn't compete with others but consider them as our partners. We are all partners in trying to get smarter and trying to figure out how to do things better and faster.

Sharing knowledge makes everyone raise the bar. Once a secret becomes public then others can start building on top of that knowledge.

There is nothing more fulfilling than a deep conversation where your ideas and beliefs are put into question. You either walk away more convinced about them or with new doubts that can open doors into new discoveries.

So next time you doubt about sharing knowledge think first: Do I have a secret? If the answer is NO, then share it. I believe people are nice and will pay it back somehow in new knowledge (karma).

Don't keep it to yourself. Share it. Teach. Learn. Repeat.

PS: Hope you find this post helpful. If you did please share it with others and hit the Recommend button. Also tell me on Twitter, I'm @JDcarlu

PS: This applies to individuals, not companies.

--

--