Anxiety (founder thoughts)

JDcarlu
Frontiers
Published in
4 min readNov 21, 2014

--

So much anxiety. My right eye twitches, me mouth feels dry and hard, it gets harder to breath. I know I'm experiencing anxiety. I know why I'm feeling it. I also know what I need to do to make it end and this is my problem. That I know … but the uncertainty remains.

So let’s start by the end. From the end. The uncertainty its on what should I do with my life if I could do anything I wanted. Imagine you have one year of rent/food. What you should do for that year?

Should you pursue your dreams and what you love? That’s the normal answer most people give. Should you still get a job, make money, save, and buy a house? Is this what you love? Or should you start your own business? Should you just go travel the world?

anxietynetowrk.com

Sometimes having too many options is worst than having no options.

At least there is less anxiety when there are no options. You will focus and work hard on the path that is being written for you.

When given too many options you have to voluntarily take a decision, a choice. Like bungee-jumping you have to take a leap of faith into your own decision. No one will take it for you. Its your responsibility and your duty. It’s mine.

There are also levels of anxiety inside the anxiety. Because you can recognize them it builds up in a huge mass of feelings inside you. When you have options you know that when taking a decision towards one path bring up new anxieties.

In the example on pursuing a job or “do what you love” lets imagine we decide for choosing the job hunting. Who will you give all your effort and creativity? Your time and all the motivation that comes from your life. Its an important decision to make. Your life will be shaped by them and you will help build someone else’s dream.

All this without considering the second level of anxiety of actually finding and doing everything in your power to be able to work for them. Here is where the anxiety build on top of the anxiety. Searching for a job, interviews, contacting them, all a new set of emotions.

On the other path there’s also many levels of anxiety. Its doesn’t end (more like it begins) when you decide to adventure yourself into pursuing your passion and dreams.

What do you love? What is your dream? How would you like to make this world a better place?

Once you have taken this decision — choice — you bring up a whole new set of anxieties. Are you going to do this alone? Who are you going to do with? Would you find someone?

At the end all I wish is that you (me) can articulate our anxieties into become productive feelings. Use them to fuel our passions and dreams.

While you do this, try to enjoy life. Remember there is only one and it should be enjoyed.

PS: Hope this helps someone. Recommend and share it with those you think need it. Share your thoughts with me at @JDcarlu. Thanks and have a great day!

--

--