Day 3: Sayonara to Silly Stuff

Julie Drizin
2 min readJan 4, 2017

--

Anyone with kids born around the turn of the century will recognize silly bands — the ultimate birthday party favor. My kids and all of their friends collected, traded and wore these ridiculous rubber band bracelets by the dozens. I don’t think I ever actually purchased silly bands for my kids. I never bought a single Pokemon card, Beanie Baby, or other mass produced cheap, crappy craze of the month import that Americans seem to obsess over, creating a new billionaire in China. My kids had plenty of toys, dolls, and games, but could easily entertain themselves with boxes, water and paint brushes, magnets and dress ups.

Is it just me or do many of these silly bands look phallic? I guess they’re a Rorschach of sorts, meant to appeal to children’s exuberance for colorful, decorative impulse buys at the grocery store checkout, and not to adults who can project their own perverted perspective on just about anything.

So, why do I still have these silly bands when my kids are now teenagers? Maybe I was holding on to them so that some day my daughters might show their children what was popular when they were little. It’s time to say no to nostalgia. Sayonara silly bands…

--

--

Julie Drizin

Mom. Journalist. Feminist. Humanist. Not necessarily in that order.