Election Night 2016: One year later

One year ago tonight was a shellshock of an election that produced a massive upset in the Presidency race between Hillary Clinton (D) and Donald Trump (R).

From one year ago:

Going from President Obama to “President” Trump will be a massive downgrade in the prestige of our nation and an embarrassment.

This has been proven true the nanosecond he was announcing his run in 2015 and subsequently got elected.

Election night timeline:

  • Going into the evening, the trendline favored a Hillary Presidency, 50/50 Senate, GOP retaining the House, and a 5–4 Liberal majority on SCOTUS.
  • -In the early going, the trends mentioned would materialize.
  • However, at around 8:30PM EST/7:30PM CST, the momentum shifted away from Clinton to a tossup battle.
  • At just after 9PM EST/8PM CST, the momentum began to favor Trump.
  • At just after 10:15PM EST/9:15PM CST, when Virginia was finally called for Clinton, Michigan and Wisconsin’s returns were showing Trump narrowly ahead, and at nearly 10% ahead in Ohio, showed that the momentum favored him for good.
  • At just after 2AM EST/1AM CST, John Podesta announced that no public statement will be had from Clinton that night.
  • At 2:48AM EST/1:48AM CST, the nightmare came true: The Russian Puppet Trump was officially declared the 45th “President” of the USA via Electoral College.
  • At 11:40AM EST/10:40AM CST the next day, Hillary Clinton gave her 2016 concession speech.

My view of that night: It was sad to see the more deserving President and Popular Vote winner (Hillary Rodham Clinton) lose to an authoritarian, racist, sexist, xenophobic, Islamophobic, free press-phobic, anti-abortion, and anti-LGBTQ bigot in Donald John Trump thanks to James Comey, Electoral College, and the Russians.

And if that wasn’t bad enough, the GOP kept hold of the Senate, thus keeping SCOTUS in Conservative hands (thanks to Majority Leader Mitch McConnell obstructing and shafting Merrick Garland) and the potential for a bigger shift to the right there and at the circuit and district court levels.

Other reasons I was upset about the election last year:

  • Losing the County Chairman race (Kurt Prenzler defeating incumbent Alan Dunstan) and control of my county’s Board switching from Dem to GOP.
  • Losing the Missouri statewides (esp. MO-GOV).
  • Kentucky being under full GOP control.

But there were some positives in an otherwise largely bad election for me:

  • Tammy Duckworth, Maggie Hassan. and Kamala Harris winning their Senate Seats.
  • Katie Stuart knocking off Dwight Kay in the Illinois House.
  • “Sheriff” Joe Arpaio FINALLY got voted out of office in Maricopa County, Arizona.
  • Roy Cooper narrowly knocking off Pat McCrory in NC-Gov race.
  • Susana Mendoza flipping the Illinois Comptroller office to the Dems by defeating Rauner appointee Leslie Munger

As much as I hate to say this, but there is a positive to us losing the White House last year: It allows us to have a large advantage in off-year and midterm elections going by recent trends favoring the party NOT occupying 1600, something that was not possible had Hillary won.

If Hillary won, we would be facing a nightmare scenario of close to 60 GOP Senators come 2018/2019, GOP gaining more House seats, gerrymanders protected and strengthened for them, and even more losing at the state legislative, gubernatorials, and other statewides (Attorney General, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, etc.). But since Trump won, it’ll be the GOP that gets creamed downballot for the next few years.

Twitter thread:

One year later: Trump has failed as our country’s leader and might or might not last the full term. A year from now, the GOP may very well be on their way to losing the House, Gubernatorials, other statewides, state legislative seats, and be lucky to keep the Senate

In 2018, hopefully we can kick butt like what we did last night in Virginia, New Jersey, and other places by taking back the House, several governorships and other statewide offices, state legislative seats, school boards, countywide offices and county boards, and a longshot chance at flipping the Senate.

It’s time to Paint America Donkey Blue Again!