My ListServe Win

Breaking down my anxiousness, my thinking, my writing process

J. Roca
5 min readJun 16, 2016
THE ListServe’s Humble Logo

So I actually won THE ListServe!

& I’m now in a limbo, in between submitting it, & waiting for it to actually publish, to the ~23,000 or so… (!!???!!!???!!)

After a ~32 Hour deadline of being given the task, to actually get the chance to write for a large, random, world wide audience in #THEListServe, (Currently at 22323 subscribers, #23Enigma #YouveGotToBeKiddingMe) I of course, procrastinated. & On a sleep deprived whim, I ended up presenting an essentially, absurd fustian.

To Be Honest, this entire Medium exercise is just me, working out my regretful anxiety, of the pressure & perfectionism, after submitting my ListServe E-Mail win.

I haven’t kept up with the ListServe like I used to. A Year behind on reading any sort of ListServe Titles, as I was focused in on my own general struggle. But all those ListServe messages are still there, & I’ll eventually get back around to reading ALL of them — Because I think I now comprehend the honour it is to have written for them. & To think, I almost missed my chance.

So I submitted this 600 Word Max(!) Mad Man On A Deadline Rant, to The ListServe, professing my ridiculous love for Twitter; & I guess, my background knowledge, & personal experience, on “Intellectual Giftedness”.

(Looking back, I wonder if The ListServe’s quality of posts would be better if we were given more than just ~48 Hours. How about, 1 Week to think about it? Like, how I waited 1 Week to think about it, after I actually sent it, & then actually getting it read.)

Anyways, I wrote about Twitter, & Gifted. Well, I did start off with my need for author context, & the quick background check that Twitter can get. And I think I might regret blatantly outing myself like that.

I then happened to reveal, & maybe grow, my side Twitter Accounts; 2) My current side project, revolving about the concept of finding REAL JOBS, in TORONTO, that I’ve been collaborating on, as researched, shared, & written behind a 3rd Wall.

(Now that I think about it, “@REAL_JOBS_YTO” is an entirely new Medium Subject; But let’s just say, I knew people are also looking for Jobs in Canada, & in Toronto. So, under pressure, I thought I might as well share it with the world. Counterproductive to my own career job search, probably — But hey — Blessed Be The Rule Of Reciprocity.)

& 3) I wrote about my other side Twitter Account, one revolving around #Gifted. I also tried to slide in some personal paragraphs on Gifted, & Intellectual Giftedness, as I KNOW EXACTLY how that subject goes, like lead balloons & preconceived notions & such; So I just tried to plant definitions & ideas, & hey — Maybe others out there in the ListServe were also labelled Gifted.

That was the gist of my ideas, “On Twitter, & “Gifted””… & Yet, I managed to inexplicably sprinkle with it, asinine random thoughts that I think I regret. Like bashing the ~$26 Billion Dollar LinkedIn Microsoft Acquisition; Revealing myself as a failed ballplayer/actor/coordinator/writer; My relationship with The Prime Minister Of Canada, and his governments thoughts on Marijuana; The Theory Of Multiple Intelligence; & Calling Facebook an Evilcorp, as maybe I’ve been watching too much Mr. Robot.

I also ended it with Tweet Sized Thoughts, maybe alluding to my ADHD, & general lack of focus. But to be fair, I truly tried to max out my ideas in that E-Mail, using all 600 Words I was allocated to do so.

While I wished I had the extra time, & extra word count, to expand on some of my thoughts, I will release those ideas I had wanted to expand, though here, as I try to just really get it off my intellectual chest:

  • Follow as many Twitter Accounts as you can; I follow 10,000+, so my Twitters are always Lit. When I see people Following >1000, I think they’re missing out on said Lit~ness
  • Do Unto Others; Basically, if I’d like to be Followed on Twitter, I should Follow Back. Which I try my best to do, spam bots & garbage gamers aside
  • Don’t Believe In Twitter Ratios; I know their fucking tricks. A lot of people with Fake Follower Counts & Cool Ratios who just game the system. I’m too smart for their intellectually insulting shit
  • While I do Follow 10,000+, I manage the Tweets I need to read through several Twitter Lists, & Apps. Primarily TweetBot, & Hootsuite.
  • Also, Twitter for iPhone, Jailbreak Edition. Free your iPhones!
  • Following a lot of accounts provides perspective, listening to other points of view
  • Yes, Diversity Is Strength
  • “Listen To Many, Speak To Few.” Literally, Shakespeare
  • I can find anything on Twitter. Downloads, Events, Ideas, Jokes, News, Recommendations, Scams, Stocks, Suggestions, TV Watchers,
  • I manage all my Twitter Links through Pocket. I’m 10,000+ Links Deep
  • I saw a lot of different people also looking for Jobs. I also a lot of different people looking to hire. So I decided to fill that niche, try & centralize it, bridge that gap
  • Intellectually Gifted Kids are real, They just don’t like to talk about it
  • Whatever happened to those Gifted Kids? Well, I know no one cares, but eh, at least I’m here
  • Just as there are developmentally delayed kids. The Bell Curve exists
  • Gifted Kids are #CutFromTheSameCloth; #TeamGifted; #GIFTED4LIFE
  • The Double Edged Sword Of Intellectual Giftedness, & The Relationship between Intellectual Giftedness & Mental Health, is really just my personal uneducated theory
  • Why yes, I’m a borderline schizophrenic, & a maybe a personal disaster
  • Did I admit to smoking Marijuana? Well, I don’t smoke as much as people think, or as much as I probably should. Still, #LegalizeIt
  • IQ is overrated
  • Moneyball, but for IQ. IQ/EQ/xQ is the new AVG/OBP/OPS
  • I check my iPhone, & therefore Twitter, seemingly 100+ Times A Day
  • Keep Gifted Programs in schools. Or if you don’t, abolish the ridiculousness that is Age = Grade
  • Facebook is what George Orwell’s 1984 warned us about
  • Empathy Empathy Empathy, Empathy Empathy EMPATHY
  • The Golden Rule on Wikipedia is longer than you think it is
  • Critical Thinking In 6 Words: “Ask Yourself, Why, Is This True”?
  • Am I too open minded?
  • Why are people too quick to run to their corners to defend their narrative?
  • Memes are just the new Propoganda
  • I am the exception to every rule
  • I see everything in different levels
  • It’s not about “Time In The Day”, it’s about Sleep & it’s all about Having The Energy
  • I think I was trying to find meaning in winning The ListServe
  • I love my Dog, & The Energy Of A Pomeranian Puppy
  • I WILL search through the entire Twitter Archive about the ListServe

There. That is what I had in mind… Post ~32 Hour Deadline, +600 Words Limit, & what I really tried to write about, to an E-Mail audience of ~23,000.

It was an interesting contrast, having read a rejection e-mail for a job I actually tried to get, & then reading I had won THE Listserve E-Mail Lottery, with ~32 Hours left. So, I wrote what I wrote, & I can’t take it back.

Because I just now realized, that I opened up my life, by writing the most critical unencrypted Email I’ve ever sent, to an audience of 22,323 or so.

So whenever my ListServe E-Mail sends, I can already anticipate the anxiety of the Uh Oh, &, Here, We, Go…

--

--

J. Roca

I AM spending my whole life Good Will Hunting! (EXcept I’m bad & Fucking Matt Damon is Hollywood BS) Destined to Run This Town TOnight… #TeamGifted #GIFTED4LIFE