Lost Finn in Tokyo: Week 2

J.T. Joki
2 min readJan 16, 2023

My second week in Tokyo began with a sense of adventure and excitement. I had heard about the vibrant nightlife in Shinjuku and decided to check it out on Wednesday night. I was not disappointed. The streets were bustling with people and the neon lights illuminated the entire area.

I strolled around, taking in the sights and sounds of the area, and I was struck by the diversity of different bars. I stopped at a few of them, trying out different types of Japanese drinks and listening to live music. I even met a group of locals who showed me around and introduced me to some of their favorite spots. These people actually had an impact to my Week 2 NFT drop.

Week two NFT drop available now on Opensea.

It was a fun and memorable night and I promised myself that I would come back to Shinjuku again and again. On Thursday, it was time to get back working on my art project, Kakejiku 2.0, which is a combination of photography and digital art. I was excited to start creating the second week piece and sharing it with the world.

The rest of the week was filled with more photography, exploring new neighborhoods, and meeting new people. I even had the opportunity to attend a traditional tea ceremony, which was a unique and enlightening experience.

On the weekend, I met a group of photographers who had similar interests and who invited me to join their group’s next photowalk. The group was called “Tokyo Shutterbugs” and they organized regular photowalks in different neighborhoods of Tokyo. I was excited to join them and to see the city through the lens of other photographers.

The photowalk was on Sunday morning, and we met at a train station near Ueno Park. There were about 20 photographers of all ages and skill levels. The group leader, a friendly and knowledgeable photographer, gave us a brief introduction and some tips for taking good photos. Then we set off, exploring the streets and alleys of the Ueno district.

The photowalk was a great way to see the city from a different perspective and to learn from other photographers. I was particularly impressed by the variety of styles and techniques that the group members used. I also enjoyed the camaraderie and the sense of community that the group had.

After the photowalk, we met for lunch at a local restaurant and shared our photos with each other. It was a great way to end the weekend and I was looking forward to joining more photowalks with the group in the future.

Overall, my second week in Tokyo was just as exciting and fulfilling as my first. I was starting to feel more and more at home in this vibrant city and I knew that there were many more adventures to come.

--

--

J.T. Joki
0 Followers

Digital artist and a photographer. Located for 2023 in Tokyo.