Giacomo Mariani
3 min readAug 3, 2016

This story is related to an assigment made for a course on interaction design.

From the start I wanted to created an app to help pregnant woman. I started by making some observations and searching for the needs of pregnant womans during the nine month of pregnancy.

After gathering a few info I created a starting mockup.

I checked the this paper prototype a few times, also talking about it with a few possible users, and I also gathered the feedback of my fellow students who gave me a great help.

After the discussion I decided to polish much the application, just leaving the main elements.

After this we made some more user testing and I gathered specific heuristic from the other students. I noticed that a few of them were confused by the main goal of the app, and I also noticed that probably one main element of the pregnancy is also to choose the name of the new born.

So, after collecting these info I decided to add an images to give more hints of its function, and I added also the option to add a name.

I also tried to give just the minimal amount of relevant information for each main subpage:

TASKS

Task was the easiest element to implement. Or at least the element that had less negative feedback.

CONTACTS

At the beginning there was only professional and family, but after some discussion with a tester I thought that also hospital could be a useful element.

SITUATIONS

Here I used the word situation. Before it was symptoms, but an user told me that situation could be more a positive word.

You can check the prototype here:

https://app.moqups.com/JackMariani/3EdxkCJC/view