The Sacrifice of #WomenWhoBern

Jacqueline Armendariz
7 min readFeb 25, 2016

--

So many themes have emerged when it comes to the 2016 Presidential Election, shaped in large part by the insatiable appetite of a non-stop 24 hour news cycle.

Among them is the fact that Secretary Hillary Clinton hasn’t been able to bridge the gap when it comes to women voters; a deficit even more evident when broken down by age demographic.

The commitment of women like me to Senator Bernie Sanders’ campaign has been dismissed by detractors as a product of hormones and a selfish endeavor that merits burning in hell; insult was added to injury when these criticisms came from revered feminist figures.

For me, all this begs the question: Have we discussed the sacrifice of #WomenWhoBern?

Apologies if I’ve missed it, but I would rather repeat this discussion than risk it never being brought up at all. I write this from Deep South Texas, making it important for me to get this out before the Super Tuesday March 1 primary.

These days it seems the notion of feminism gets so twisted. Simply put, it is the pursuit of rights for women that are equal to those of men; with emphasis on the world “equal.”

The sacrifice of #WomenWhoBern is this: Despite the fact that Senator Sanders’ opponent is a woman, we have chosen to support a leader and public servant with an unwavering commitment to justice and equality.

Have you thought about the existential quandary this represents for #WomenWhoBern?

It seems to me this glaring fact has not been discussed from the perspective of those making this sacrifice. Instead of questioning whether I’m a feminist; what if people respect the fact that I am ultimately practicing feminism in a highly altruistic form?

I am making a tough choice as a feminist for the benefit of all in being part of #WomenWhoBern.

There is no denying such a capable woman president would be a triumphant victory for feminism. This would’ve been my first time to ever cast a ballot for a woman president, yet I couldn’t in good conscience. This fact hurts. It gives me a lump in my throat. It kinda makes me nauseous. I do not make this choice lightly.

Don’t you think I’m dying to see a woman president in my lifetime?

Don’t you think I want to see the dream I was told as a young girl — that even I could be president as a woman — come true with a Democratic candidate?

But, I am willing to make this sacrifice because I believe that if I am truly dedicated to equality I cannot leave anyone behind.

Perhaps you’ve seen the following Chicago Tribune photo of a young Senator Sanders standing up for civil rights? I want a leader like this for our country; someone willing to bear injustice at their own personal cost if it means standing up for what is right — todo para la causa.

A look at Senator Sanders’ long career of activism and public service requires an entirely separate essay. Suffice it to say that his judgement during a political career longer than my lifetime allows me to rest assured that he deserves and has earned my vote.

I look at the state of my country and, if I remain objective, I know Senator Sanders is the leader with the vision we need to keep America true to itself. Equality is one of our core values as a country. Equality is at the heart of feminism. We must ensure it extends to ALL. Some have labeled Senator Sanders’ policies as too idealistic. I call it progress. I call it vision. This is what I want in my president.

It feels so counter intuitive to toot my own horn in this way. I’d rather take those odds, however, than stay quiet about this because I’m not alone in making this difficult choice.

TIME made the observation that this moment could signal a “sea change” among feminists. I’m in agreement.

“But younger feminists are more likely to eschew traditional feminism in favor of ‘intersectionality’ — the idea that social identities like race, gender and class are so intertwined that it’s impossible to prioritize one lens over another. In other words, a middle-class straight white woman would have very different concerns than a poor trans woman of color, and it’s unfair to assume that both would have the same priorities just because they’re women.”

Don’t Insult Our Intelligence

There’s another piece to this scenario that must be discussed.

Frankly, if you really want to talk equality, I urge Secretary Clinton and her surrogates to quit insulting the intelligence of the American people when it comes to economic reform.

On Feb. 4, at the MSNBC Democratic Debate in New Hampshire, Secretary Clinton said in part about reigning in Wall Street excess:

Now, if all we’re going to talk about is one part of our economy, and indeed one streak in our economy, we’re missing the big oil companies.

When I heard this I sat shocked that someone would try to bullshit me so hard and blatantly. No doubt many entities are part of our nation’s economy. Now, where does much of their influence and power sit? Wall Street. The political and economic capital that Wall Street has amassed makes it one of the most, if not the most, powerful entity in our country. Wall Street has done this to the detriment of the rest us living in America.

Money equals power. In order to truly reform our country for progress we must address the completely inequitable financial system in America. Senator Sanders, from the very beginning of his campaign in contrast to Secretary Clinton, has made it the heart of his vision to do just that.

Another example of the Clinton campaign seemingly underestimating the public’s intelligence has to do with gender. On numerous occasions, the Clinton campaign has said electing her isn’t based on the fact that she’s a woman. And yet, the quotes and headlines speak for themselves.

Consider the following and imagine if President Barack Obama and his surrogates had said something similar when it comes to being black:

Feminist Gloria Steinem says young women support Bernie because they want attention from boys

Clinton’s Pitch to New Hampshire: Electing a Woman Is the Real Revolution

Albright: “‘Special place in hell’ for women who don’t support Clinton”

So, in the interest of equality, which rests at the heart of feminism: Respect the intelligence of the American people, and especially #WomenWhoBern. Quit trying to tell us part of this isn’t about her gender.

Some argue younger women feminists haven’t faced the challenges those before us did, which causes a lack understanding among us. There’s no doubt I have risen on the shoulders of powerful and brave women before me, some of whom made the ultimate sacrifice with their lives. I must stress the following: I am eternally grateful to them for their tenacious fight to make a better world for me.

Without them, I shudder to think how my life would be. I thank them, and this includes Secretary Clinton. They are the ones who allow me to vote today for Senator Sanders, standing in solidarity with others striving for equality. I absolutely do not compare the sacrifice of #WomenWhoBern to those made by suffragists and other feminist activists.

Instead, I ask only that my sacrifice to be part of #WomenWhoBern is, at the least, acknowledged and no longer diminished; especially by figures I have looked up to as a woman.

Defeating The Intolerance

The real battle comes to its fruition this November. The Republican Party continues to embarrass our nation with its primary election clown show that has a truly sinister tone to it — hate.

As president, Senator Sanders is hands down the person to confront this ugly truth in our country and make inroads. At the New Hampshire debate, he answered a heartbreaking question from a Muslim American fearing for the safety of his children because of rampant Islamophobia. See his full response in the video below.

Audience member: “… As president, how would you address Islamophobia?”

Senator Sanders: “Bluntly and directly. …”

In other words, zero tolerance. That’s what I want in my president.

If the time comes, it’s important for me to make clear that I will vote for Secretary Clinton to be president.

But, if you remain objective and informed, it’s easy to understand that right now Senator Sanders is our best choice and hope to keep progress thriving in America. This is who we are as a country. We always strive for equality, justice and freedom.

We can’t lose that. We won’t.

I, and so many others, won’t let it happen.

We refuse.

This is why we’ve witnessed Senator Sanders rise from being a virtually unknown candidate to leading Secretary Clinton in a national poll this month. This is why we’ve made history with a truly people-powered campaign that’s seen a record breaking number of individual donors.

To all my fellows who #FeelTheBern and especially the #WomenWhoBern, I hope you always remember:

When change is a comin’, how many times have the revolutionaries and the youth been talked down by those before them; insulted and mischaracterized as foolish, ignorant or too idealistic?

The more this happens the more resolve I have; the more I vow to fight on for our movement and Senator Sanders; the more I know I’ve made the right choice.

I need you. We need you.

We need your vote; your voice; your support; your phone banking; your block walking; your social media posts and your beautiful hearts, minds and spirits.

This is not about he or she or them.

This is about us.

--

--

Jacqueline Armendariz

Seeker. Advocate. Community worker. *Views here are mine. They do not reflect those of my employer.*