My Next Chapter

Jake Flomenberg
2 min readNov 14, 2018

--

After 6 incredible years at Accel, I’ve decided to move on.

I’m joining a much younger firm — a firm that shares my same philosophies on how to practice the business, a firm that is exclusively focused on early stage business technology investing, and a firm that I can help shape the future of. It is with great excitement I am announcing that I’ll be joining Wing as their newest partner.

Wing espouses a criticality of focus in their investment model that resonates with me. They strip away distractions and practice the business of early stage enterprise investment in its purest form. No late stage investing, no consumer markets, no far-flung geographies, no pyramid of staffers.

Wing has great people. The firm was founded by Gaurav (ex Sequoia) and Peter (ex Accel). While it is clear that they have a history of success, I also believe that they they are two of the best thinkers in the venture business today. They have since been joined by Jeff and Zach, who are both quickly making names for themselves in their respective areas of focus.

While the firm will continue to grow deliberately, Wing does not aspire to be a multi-fund, multi-strategy firm and remains exclusively dedicated to their early stage craft. Wing is a tight-knit, pure-play partnership dedicated to early-stage business technology investing that I believe I can leave a lasting impact on.

A few thank you’s are in order. I’ve learned everything I know about the venture business thus far from my partners and time at Accel. For that, I am eternally grateful. I hope to remain a good friend and co-investor to Accel in the years to come.

I’m also thankful to all of the entrepreneurs and CEOs I’ve had the pleasure to support along the way. Thank you for allowing me to join for a part of your journey and know that I am always here to support you in any way that I can.

--

--

Jake Flomenberg

Partner @Wing_VC; interested next-gen infrastructure, enterprise software applications, and security. Former Partner@Accel. Ex product guy @Splunk & @Cloudera