Obtaining a Readers Pass at the British Library

James Wakefield
2 min readJul 9, 2016

--

I’ve had a migraine all day, a throbbing pain focused just above my right eye; in line with my eye brow. With this, it has been hard to concentrate on a task for a sustainable period of time. Its like having a pixie constantly pressing their knee into my pre-frontal cortex. To help me relax and ease some tension, after work I did something that has been on my to-do-list for a while, I cycled along to the British Library to inquire about getting a Readers Pass.

I found the experience very strait forward. When I arrived the polite Helpdesk staff member signposted me to the readers pass registration department. For once I had all the correct documentation, so it took around 5 minutes to sign up for the pass and receive an ID card. Because I work for the NHS, it entitles me to access all reading rooms and the pass is valid for three years.

Once I’d signed up, locked my stuff up in a locker (£1 deposit required) in the locker room, I went and had a mooch about. The feeling of receiving this Readers Pass was comparable to the feeling I got when first introduced to the internet. It’s like, you’ve got such vast amounts of knowledge at your fingertips, but unless you know where you want to go, or what you want to do, you end up totally directionless and following the flow. So, I spent my brief time there just wondering around like a headless chicken; appreciating subjects from humanities to science. To coin a phrase, I was like a kid in a candy store.

Signing-up for the pass and having a wonder around was truly inspiring. I couldn’t help but feel motivated. The library appeared full of people of different interests and purposes, and I can imagine with a desire to acquire knowledge that will feed their interests and perhaps change the world; you never know. After all, the reading room at the original library at the British Museum hosted the likes of Marx, Hayek and Gandhi.

I can’t wait to visit again, but next time with more purpose and direction, and strengthened motivation. I highly recommend people visit, for it is a true cathedral of information. And you know what, my migraine appeared to abate.

--

--