Antwerp Christmas Market

Generally A Christmassy City

JamieWrites
3 min readDec 29, 2022

--

Cathedral of our lady
Antwerp (my photos)

Antwerp gained my attention when it popped up on my Pinterest feed. Last year I planned a holiday to Paris but France shut their doors on British people because of Covid levels, meaning the trip got suspended. After feeling a but shunned, I decided to switch my ticket for Antwerp instead. I am so pleased that I did!

Christmas Scenes

I remember seeing some Youtube clips of flashmobs dancing to ‘Do-Re-Mi’ at Antwerp Central Station and thinking, ‘Wow! That looks like an amazing hall.’ Seeing it for myself, I was blown away by its architectural beauty.

Antwerp station (my photos)

Walking around the wide streets, which were largely pedestrianised and full of tram lines and underground access points, I went in search of Grote Markt which was the main city square, currently immersed in all things ‘Christmas’.

Christmas market
Grote Markt — my photo

--

--

JamieWrites

Freelance writer, author and blogger. Passionate about books, theatre and the environment. Everyone should have a healthy work-life balance so I share my tips.