Yorkshire Poet, Paul Brookes

Jamie Dedes
5 min readDec 21, 2019

Interview, Writing in Yorkshire Dialect

Map showing Yorkshire highlighted against the historical counties of England excluding the City of London, in 1851 courtesy of Dr Greg, Nilfanion and MRSC. © Crown copyright and database right 2010 under CC BY-SA 3.0

LANGUAGE FAMILY

Indo-European

Germanic

West Germanic

Anglo Frisian

Anglic

Old English

English

Yorkshire Dialect

I don’t remember when I first encountered Paul Brookes (Wombwell Rainbow) and his prodigious work marked by a keen appreciation for art and history and his observations of everyday life salted with irony and humor and his rich Yorkshire dialect. I think Paul either submitted work to The Poet by Day, Wednesday Writing Prompt or to an issue of The BeZine, maybe both. I do remember I had to look up Wombwell. It seemed to me a rather odd name for a blog. Wombwell (clearly not Paul’s family name) turned out to be the town were Paul currently lives in Northern Yorkshire and “Wombwell” may mean “Womba’s Well” or “well in a hollow.” Read on: this is an interesting interview. I think you’ll enjoy it as much as I have.

INTERVIEW

JAMIE: Paul, are you the only poet in your family? How did you come to poetry?

--

--

Jamie Dedes

A freelance writer, poet, content editor, and blogger. I manage The BeZine thebezine.com and The Poet by Day jamiededes.com, an info hub for poets and writers.