My lovely brick wall.

Facing a Brick Wall

Jarratt Isted
2 min readJun 17, 2016

--

Eyes kinda open, feeling groggy and like I could sleep a thousand more sleeps, I stumble into my living room every morning at 4am.

I pop the kettle on, stumble over to my desk and fall onto my chair opposite my brick wall. I’m ready to work!

First things first—get my Medium article done and dusted. Sometimes the ideas never flow and I have to force it, but sometimes too many ideas flow.

Ugh, writing every day sucks, but I know it’ll make me a better writer.

I find a topic I find interesting to write about, put in a not-so-great title and start tapping away. No edits, no worries. I’m getting used to this publishing thing, y’know.

Why Face a Brick Wall?

Yeah I know, a brick wall isn’t exactly fascinating, right?

Turns out, facing a view of rabbits, pheasants, and squirrels is far too distracting. While the view may look nice, it’s not what I need.

I need focus, and focus only happens when there’s not much going on around you. At least, it does for me.

I’ve tried getting work done in a coffee shop many times before, but it never seems to work for me. There’s people budging, talking, scraping chairs along the floor.

Nope, I’m fine in front of my brick wall.

Why 4am?

4am is when the sun’s down and I feel like the world isn’t up yet. It’s lovely and peaceful, and the only thing I can hear is the flock of pigeons that love to sit on the roof and hoot.

It seems as though writing is best done when you’re not over thinking what you’re writing.

When I wake up at say, 6am, I tend to set aside perfectly good topics, self-edit all the way through, and have something worse at the end of it.

While I don’t enjoy getting myself out of bed at 4, I know my day’s probably gonna be better because of it.

I’m writing about something that interests me every day for a year. This is day 6 of 365. ✌️

--

--