My Marriage to a Man from the Slums Fell Apart After I Received a Resume: A Story of Deception and Heartbreak

Jason Jang
5 min readMar 24, 2024
Photo by Velizar Ivanov on Unsplash

My name is Martina, and I’m 28 years old. My parents run a business in Guangzhou, and I work in their company.

We own a villa, two large apartments, three commercial properties, several cars, and a company in Guangzhou. We’re not the wealthiest, but we’re comfortable.

I met my husband, Pero, at the entrance of a bar. I had been drinking and couldn’t drive, so I called for a designated driver.

Pero was the driver who arrived. He was tall, handsome, and had a sunny disposition. I was immediately smitten with him.

After that, whenever I had social engagements that involved drinking, I would ask him to be my designated driver.

Once, I asked him why he worked as a designated driver.

He told me he was from a rural area and an only child. He had graduated with a master’s degree from a prestigious university and worked at a company in Guangzhou.

However, his parents were in poor health and required expensive medical care. He worked as a designated driver in his spare time to earn extra money for their treatment.

At that moment, I was touched by his kindness and filial piety. When I got home, I…

--

--

Jason Jang

I'm a writer on a mission to captivate hearts and minds with my engaging content here on Medium.