Reuniting with Family: My Father’s Emotional Reaction to Meeting My Girlfriend

Jason Jang
2 min readMay 2, 2024
Photo by James Besser on Unsplash

My name is Len, I’m 28 years old, a software engineer working at a tech company in Beijing.

I come from a small town in Henan, with my father, a 52-year-old Chinese teacher, and my grandmother in the family.

Since my mother passed away giving birth to me, my father has focused all his energy on my education and taking care of my grandmother.

My girlfriend, Sophia, is a graphic designer I met in Beijing. We’ve been together for two years and are planning to get married.

We both took a few days off and traveled for hours by high-speed train and bus to reach my hometown, surrounded by fields and the scent of soil.

To my surprise, upon seeing Sophia, my father rushed forward and hugged her tightly, saying she resembled my mother.

My heart swelled with emotion upon hearing this, as I had vague memories of my mother, and my father’s words seemed to explain everything.

That night, I lay in bed, conflicted with emotions for Sophia’s discomfort and sympathy for my father’s sudden outpouring of emotions.

The next day, Sophia and I visited my mother’s grave together, feeling a connection between Sophia and my mother.

--

--

Jason Jang

I'm a writer on a mission to captivate hearts and minds with my engaging content here on Medium.