The Biggest Sign of a Senior Engineer

Jason Cromer
The Startup
Published in
3 min readAug 17, 2019

--

I am always surprised when I overhear a conversation about what makes an engineer senior, and the most important virtue is completely left out.

It’s not that people forget, or that it’s an unknown trait.

In fact, I think it’s the opposite: it’s something so well known, that we often take it for granted.

It becomes an overlooked part of software engineering, and because it’s overlooked, it makes the truly great engineers stand out.

What is that virtue? It’s patience.

Your work may take twice as long, but it will cost those working with it ten times less in the future

I remember at my first internship, each project assigned to me would cause a sense of urgency. Always get your work done on time or early, right?

Sure, you should always aim to get your work done before the deadline, or push back if you think the deadline isn’t reasonable. I’m not advocating for late work.

What I am advocating for, however, is patience. Instead of hopping on your laptop and creating a new file/project, take a deep breath, a short walk, or a pause for a glass of water or snack.

While you’re taking a short pause, take your time to think about the project. Approximately how long will each piece of the…

--

--

Jason Cromer
The Startup

Software Engineer at Postmates. I write about Android-related things, as well as personal/professional health and success.