Scam Alert-The Publicist Who Breached A Contract: A Story About Setting Boundaries

Javonne Steward
3 min readJul 3, 2023

--

Ah, the joys of working with a publicist who believes they hold all the power! Let me regale you with the tale of how my assertive spirit clashed with their egotistical ways, resulting in a breach of our contract and a swift blocking on their part. Brace yourself for this rollercoaster of boundary-setting and communication breakdowns!

So there I was, thinking I had found the perfect publicist to help skyrocket my career. Money was sent, we signed the dotted line, exchanged pleasantries, and embarked on what I hoped would be a fruitful partnership. Little did I know that asserting my boundaries and communicating like a responsible adult would be the catalyst for our undoing.

You see, one night while I was relaxing on the couch, snuggled in my husband’s arms, I received a text after 10 pm from a publicist that I hired demanding I get some things submitted to him. It got to the point where I didn’t like how he was communicating with me. So, I kindly informed my publicist that contacting me during normal work hours and using email instead of constant text messages would be the way to go. Seems reasonable, right?

Well, my dear reader, it was as if I had unleashed a beast of entitlement. Suddenly, my publicist seemed to forget that we had a professional agreement, not a friendship where they could ring me up at any given moment.

Now, being the assertive and independent soul that I am, I had no qualms about expressing my concerns. My assertive nature had awakened the sleeping dragon of their fragile ego. Instead of acknowledging my reasonable request, they chose to take offense. Can you believe it? The audacity!

Before I knew it, I found myself blocked, left in the digital wasteland like an unwelcome visitor to their self-proclaimed kingdom. It was as if I had committed the cardinal sin of setting boundaries and daring to assert my preferences. How dare I prioritize my well-being over their constant need for instant gratification!

Reflecting on this ordeal, I can’t help but find the irony in the situation. Here I was, trying to establish a professional relationship built on mutual respect, only to be met with arrogance and an utter lack of consideration.

So, my fellow boundary-setters, take this cautionary tale to heart. When working with a publicist, ensure that your contractual agreements are clear and your boundaries are firmly communicated. And if they can’t handle the simple task of respecting your time and preferred mode of communication, well, perhaps they’re not the professional partner you need on your journey to success.

Side Note: I’m sharing this story in hopes of helping others and because I was heated that I lost $1500. So I reached out to another publicist (whom I had just recently met and she was such a doll) for advice on what I should and could do. I created the video above and was determined to put it on my Instagram account. The publicist advised me that I should just chalk it up to a learning experience and move forward. So I listened….I did not use my platform to speak out against Tyler Gill Media Agency BUT then…..

A week goes by and I’m on the phone talking to a good friend of mine, who had no idea that I hired Tyler Gill Media Agency, and just as I was about to tell her about my publicist woes…she revealed that she had just hired Tyler Gill Media Agency for $1500. She then went on to say that she had a weird feeling about this guy and that after hearing my story she should have trusted her intuition (usually our intuition never steers us wrong) I had a change of heart about sharing my story. Now, if I had shared that video sooner, she could have saved $1500 and a headache. Maybe her experience will be much different than mine. Let’s hope so.

Stay determined, stay assertive, and remember: boundaries are not a sign of weakness, but a reflection of your self-respect.

To your continued success,

Javonne

PS: If you are looking for a community to join, check out the No Excuse Today Club. Click here.

Important: Tyler Gill of Tyler Gill Media Agency if you ever read this: Do the right thing. You breached a contract. Send me back my money. If you agree to move with integrity and respect others’ boundaries, then I’ll remove this article. It could all be so simple.

--

--

Javonne Steward

Javonne Steward is a Speaker, Author & Entrepreneur creating shareable content to help you overcome life's adversities.