It’s Official: I Miss The Old Kanye

Jeff Williams
2 min readNov 18, 2016

--

I fought close friends over this album. I could hear and relate to the frustration. I overlooked the chopped lyrics. I avoided speaking on “I am A God.” This year he gave us Top 3 album of the year(Chance and T.Scott) and an awesome tour. I almost thought he was coming back around. But then the Cudi rant. And then the Jay-Z rant. And now this #NotMyPresident talk. Shake my head.

(No links because I don’t want to be associated with that nonsense. Find it yourself).

I can no longer support in public and criticize in private:

If anyone else is feeling like me, then here’s to the old one:

I miss the old Kanye, straight from the Go Kanye (Homecoming Ye)
Chop up the soul Kanye, set on his goals Kanye (All Falls Down Ye)

I miss the sweet Kanye, chop up the beats Kanye (Hey Mama Ye)
I gotta say, at that time I’d like to meet Kanye

I used to love Kanye, I used to love Kanye
I even had the (black) polo, I thought I was Kanye

I had like 30 polos lol (2007)

BUT…

What if Kanye then turned back to the old Kanye
That would be COLD Kanye, it would be all love Kanye
But you GONE Kanye. And as a true fan Kanye

I gotta cancel you Ye, with 2 Words Kanye:

Prayers Up

-Jeff

--

--

Jeff Williams

marketing | social entrepreneurship| corporate rebel | conscious black millennial | cofounder: BeNimbleCo.com & CapCulturePod.com