Longview Lull: A Day at the Library

Jeff Nelson
3 min readDec 6, 2018
Post Office, Library, and Village Administration in Longview, Photo by Jeff Nelson

My wife and I have moved to Longview, AB. I have to add the AB because there are 2 towns in the USA with the same name: one in TX and another in WA. I’m in Alberta Canada.

Josie got a job nearby as a nurse. I’m attempting to managing a business that should only require a phone and a connection to the Internet.

However, I don’t have a connection to the Internet yet. That will take a week or more. Things don’t move fast here in Longview. Eastlink had some excuse about feeding, watering, and hitching up the horses. Right now I’m amassing a huge bill using LTE with my cell phone provider.

As you can imagine, if I’m running a business that relies on a connection to the Internet, I need WiFi. So I went on a hunt. There is a coffee shop, a few restaurants, a gas station, a hotel and some stores that sell antiques and art. Josie and I have been to a few of these places but never heard of there being a WiFi connection. One option I thought of was to try the local library. It takes 10 minutes to walk to the library. Well, guess what? Yes, they have a connection. I hooked my Surface up and did a days worth of work in about 4 hours.

I have to mention that this time wasn’t continuous. My concentration was halted at 1:00 pm and my temporary “office” was invaded by members of the Longview Writers Group. Seven ladies…

--

--

Jeff Nelson

Teacher. Speaker. Strategist. Analyst. For Digital Marketing and Marketing Metrics.