Longview Lull: Bert Smith, Artist

Jeff Nelson
4 min readDec 31, 2018

There are about 350 people that live in Longview, Alberta. Not many people but the history is rich, very rich. A couple weeks ago I was in the local library and I noticed a display of scribblers with pencil drawings on the cover. There was about 50 of them, all with the same title, “My Art Book”. I assumed that these were carryovers from the local school. I asked Linda, the librarian, and she said, “Nope, these art books were the product of a local artist, Bert Smith, working with children.” Apparently, the children would go over to his house after school or on weekends and draw. He had one scribbler for each budding artist.

Drawing by Adrian, Photo by Jeff Nelson

Here is the inside cover page from Adrian’s artbook. Below are pages from inside the artbook.

Drawings by Adrian, Photo by Jeff Nelson

The colours are faded but you get a rough idea of how Bert Smith was working with these children. There was TV in those days but I’m sure it was He died over a year ago on February 17, 2017.restricted by parents.

Bert Smith died over a year ago on February 17, 2017. After my discussion with Linda at the library, I wondered how good of an artist was Bert Smith? Well, the answer is that he was pretty good. Here is one of his paintings. Sadly, this is black…

--

--

Jeff Nelson

Teacher. Speaker. Strategist. Analyst. For Digital Marketing and Marketing Metrics.