Give the Windows tablet a Chance: Part 1

My Windows tablet experience

Jerrin Joe Francis
2 min readMay 25, 2016
Chuwi Hi8 dual boot tablet

For my first tablet purchase I chose a Windows tablet, Chuwi Hi8, with Android dual boot support. A Windows tablet for Rs. 6000 was hard to resist, thinking that I could my 2.6 Kg laptop with a 300g tablet for my work. Oh, but I was wrong.

Windows in desktop mode is pretty much worthless on an 8" screen as it is too small even with a keyboard and a touchpad. But when you enable the tablet mode this turns to a beautiful media device which is based on the most popular desktop Operating System.

Just a Skin

At times I feel that Windows 10 is just a skin over the legacy O. S., that too not fully implemented as when you dig deep into settings the older not so touch optimised interface comes up. If you are not a person who tinkers with the O. S. then you can imagine Windows 10 as a for Tablet O. S.

While I didn’t like tile based UI for mobiles, for a tablet it looked really functional. If apps make use of the live tiles correctly, it's much better than an icon.

Chuwi Hi 8

Let me focus on hardware for a while. While this is an ultra cheap tablet made possible the Chinese and Intel subsidies the specifications are decent. The full H. D. display was the biggest draw for me making browsing and watching videos really pleasant.

One of the main disadvantages of this device is that its battery life is very bad. You can’t expect the device to last even half a day and you will spend more time recharging the device rather than using it.

In the part II i will be discussing about the Windows tablet’s software ecosystem.

--

--