Watching Less TV

Jerry Grzegorzek
2 min readApr 16, 2024

Watch less TV. I stopped watching TV around 10 years ago and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made in my entire life. I gave up on television right after finishing the graduate school.

I was not earning a lot of money at that time, so neither I wanted to spend any money on a fancy TV set, nor to pay a monthly TV fee for something that did not bring much value into my life.

I used to watch TV every day when I was studying business journalism in the graduate school. I watched mostly news channels like CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera, Russia TV or CCTV. I was pushing myself to stay informed of what happens around the world. My mind was constantly occupied with hundreds of events from different countries, people’s faces, their tragedies and victories.

A few months after deciding to start living without the TV set in my first rented apartment, I realized that I actually do not miss it a lot.

I also realized that I do not really have to watch every news cycle. Because the information I was receiving not only was not quite related to my personal life, nor were the TV channels helping to dramatically improve quality of my daily life. All the news I watched were mostly reports on random people whom I have never even met, nor have anything to do with.

Instead of spending more time with people around me, I was wasting lots of attention on people I personally did not know.

After so many years of living without the TV, I do not miss it at all. I have more free time…

--

--