[still processing.] Zero.

Jesse Golomb
1 min readNov 11, 2016

--

Like so many of you, I’ve watched this week as a future I took for granted was ripped away.

This has been profoundly dispiriting, but also disorienting. I have tried to stay off social media as much as possible and to process this as slowly and as best I can, without the noise and punditry. Retreating — that’s been my way of coping, I guess.

I am only now beginning to reconcile what’s happened. I imagine it will take quite a while before anyone is able to do so completely. Figuring out how to move forward from this both personally and politically will require a great deal of reflection in all of us. I’m sure our thinking will evolve as our pain does.

Still, some things have begun to seem clear to me, and I’d like to get these thoughts down and share them. These are unfinished thoughts. I am still processing, and will be for some time. But with so much in doubt and so much of what had seemed solid now ephemeral, this a forum to commit to a few core, fundamental truths this election reveals. Hopefully these truths begin to make a path forward more clear for all of us.

One: The ideals we cherish cannot be taken for granted.

--

--