The Dangerous Myths of “Passion”

You’ll never completely love any job, so stop trying.

Jessica Wildfire
splattered

--

Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

Love at first sight. Most of us already know that’s a pale blue lie. This romantic myth never worked for dating. And it won’t help your career, either. But we still listen to self-help gurus and high school principals alike when they tell us, or our kids, that we should do something we love. Never take a job just for the money. If only life were that simple.

Here’s a radical idea. You might take a job for the money, and then find the meaning later. The passion comes after the fact. That’s happened to me, and lots of other people.

Lately, we’ve seen a hundred versions of the same bad advice: Quit your day job immediately. Commit to your true passion, 100 percent. It’s the only way you’ll succeed and find true happiness.

No. That’s wrong. Or at least, it’s not right for everyone.

Besides, nobody ever said you can’t do both — work a day job, and pursue your passion on the side. In fact, quitting my day job would be suicide. First, I like my day job. I enjoy teaching, and I’m good at it. But if someone asked me if I was passionate about teaching, I’m not sure what I’d say. Maybe? I’m not sure I’ve ever felt that odd emotion, or even wanted to.

Passion is a strange way to…

--

--