First kiss are always the sweetest

Jessica Minsuh Kim
3 min readDec 15, 2016

--

This is a story about my first kiss that I’ve experienced and till this day, I still remember every moment.

I was in my 1st year of college at USC (University of Southern California) when one of my friend introduce me to a guy name Dylin Prestly. I knew him a little, met him before when all of our friends hanged out together. He was a bit older then I was but still, I always had an interest in him even though he had a past relationship with my friend and from talking to people, it seemed he had many past relationships.

Dylin and I became good friends throughout the years but only as friends. I told him every detail of my life and about my feelings for my secret crush (him). He listen and cared for me to provide comfort and advise. He just didn’t know it was him. I just didn’t know that I was beginning to fall in love with him.

That summer of 2010, we went on a special event group camping trip. We really had a great time together and when it was time to sleep, he accompanied me to the tent with his feet outside because at that time, girls and boys weren’t allowed to sleep together. There were too many mosquitoes that he let his whole body get in the tent with the door open. But, the insects started to get in, so we decided to close the tent and we were sleeping side by side. I swear there was many times when I wanted to reach over and hug him, kiss him perhaps but I knew we were just friends.

We talked and talked when suddenly, he asked me, “Why do you love me?” I was shocked because how did he know? Or was he just joking and making fun of me. A bit scarred and caught off guard, I said the only thing that came into my mind…”Because God said ‘Love one another.’” Then, he smiled and kissed me on the check and there was silence… after a while he embraced me and said “You should have kissed me that theme park when we had a moment.” I nodded, but then he told me the same phrase again and I hardly heard him. When I asked him, he suddenly kissed my lips and hug me.

After that, I really didn’t know what to say or do because I was really shocked and shy. I just turn my back away from him and look at the stars above. He listened to the beatings of my heart and asked me why my heart was beating so fast. I blamed him for that and I still blame you, Dylin Prestly still this day.

The next morning, he looked at me and when we got the chance to talk, he teased me with the question, “who was your first kiss?” I just smiled because I can’t forget the time his lips touched mine. That was the time that I proved to myself and to everyone that first kisses are always the sweetest, especially if it’s an unexpected kiss….

Dylin Prestly, if you ever get to read this blog….I hope you know you were my first kiss.

To: Dylin Prestly
From: Jessica Minsuh Kim
JessicaMinsuhKim@Hotmail.com

--

--